Linux Still Sucks Big Time

in #linux6 years ago (edited)

Steemit is more difficult to learn than Mandarin. But Linux is even more difficult than Steemit!!!

Tired of Windows harassment, after years I tried to install another Linux "distro" "Xubuntu" "Bionic Beaver" (WTF?) 18.04 on my PC and finally found a way to have my Windows start up first without the horrible GRUB messing everything up.

Big Victory!

Yeah right, until I went on Youtube to watch a video:

*** !!! SCREEN TEARING !!! ***




So then came the classic Linux online search and before you know it you end up in endless threads in endless usergroups between endless kinds of flavours and platforms and "distro's" etc. etc.

But this time I was lucky and found my answer, well sort of, see for yourself (sigh):

https://www.reddit.com/r/linuxquestions/comments/8fb9oj/how_to_fix_screen_tearing_ubuntu_1804_nvidia_390/

Posted byu/nfm886
22 days ago
How to fix screen tearing? Ubuntu 18.04, Nvidia 390
Hi

Is it possible to fix screen tearing with nvidia optimus laptop?

It's ASUS N580VD: i5-7300hq, GTX 1050 4GB

OS is Ubuntu 18.04 LTS with nvidia 390 driver from graphics-driver/ppa

I know trick with ForceCompositionPipeline but i don't see this option in nvidia-settings.

22 Comments
Share

81% Upvoted
What are your thoughts? Log in or Sign up
LOG IN
SIGN UP
SORT BY
BEST

nfm886
5 points
·
22 days ago
Holy crap! Guys! I found a solution ;)

Fresh install of Ubuntu 18.04 with Nvidia driver 390.48 (not from ppa, just from Ubuntu repo).

edit this file (or create it)

sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/zz-nvidia-modeset.conf
and add this line

options nvidia_drm modeset=1
on Ubuntu 18.04 it's not recommended to write nvidia driver version in line above

after all, update initramfs with

sudo update-initramfs -u
then reboot.

Source: https://www.cmscritic.com/stop-screen-tearing-with-optimus-laptops-using-nvidia-drivers-in-linux/

Cheers! ;)

Share
Save

SpreeNaut
1 point
·
8 days ago
Oh my god. This actually works on my old optimus laptop, now my Ubuntu is perfect. Thank you so much man!

Share
Save

DestroyedByLSD25
1 point
·
2 days ago
works on my thinkpad t460p (nvidia 940MX) with ubuntu 18 and nvidia 390 drivers

Share
Save

polaris6933
2 points
·
22 days ago
Try logging into a Wayland session and see if it's better.

Share
Save

nfm886
2 points
·
22 days ago
After set to Wayland, session won't start. I made format and now Linux Mint is my friend -.-

Found that post: https://askubuntu.com/questions/941077/screen-tearing-on-nvidia-gtx960m#941735

Nvidia driver 390 with

options nvidia_384_drm modeset=1
and looks better. Maybe problem is not fully solved, but now it look a way better. Moving windows does not hurt eyes that much.

Share
Save

Zallo92
2 points
·
22 days ago
·
edited 22 days ago
Try this, it worked for me.

Edit: never mind, just switched back to mint cinnamon.

Share
Save

Single_Core
3 points
·
22 days ago
The only reason I don't like to use linux is screen tearing...

Share
Save

ionlydosupport
4 points
·
22 days ago
The only reason I don't like to use linux is screen tearing...

xorg and nvidia issues.

open drivers and wayland completely fix the issue.

Share
Save

thedblouis
2 points
·
22 days ago
Try compton

Share
Save

nfm886
2 points
·
22 days ago
Try compton

Does compton fully solve the issue? If so, then I'm gonna give a try xfce.

Share
Save

Single_Core
1 point
·
22 days ago
Yes it does, but it adds a ton of mouse input lagg. Which is even worse in my opinion

Share
Save

Cyber_Faustao
1 point
·
22 days ago
Yup

Share
Save

is_reddit_useful
1 point
·
22 days ago
Xfce, Compton and Nvidia, and no tearing here.

Share
Save

administratrator
1 point
·
21 days ago
Compton does help a lot with tearing, but I've seen it introduce a lot of issues. A friend of mine made himself a keyboard shortcut to toggle compton on and off, because hardware accelerated opengl things were stuttering weirdly.

Share
Save

ropid
1 point
·
22 days ago
On a laptop, the display is probably connected to the Intel GPU, not the NVIDIA one. Look up how to fix tearing with Intel graphics.

That said, I'd assume things would just work by themselves with the normal Ubuntu desktop? Are you doing something special that you are not mentioning?

Share
Save

nfm886
1 point
·
22 days ago
By default, Intel is selected as GPU to use. I changed it to Nvidia for better performance.

I'm not doing any kind of heavy things which require much performance, but user experience is much better with nvidia, except screen tearing. Everything works just faster than on intel.

If i have secondary GPU which gives me better performance, so why to not use it? ;)

If there is no solution for screen tearing, I'm gonna stay with Intel, until it will be fixed :/

Share
Save

ropid
2 points
·
22 days ago
·
edited 22 days ago
What do you mean when you say you changed it to NVIDIA?

EDIT:

What I mean is, there's two ways to do this:

Some laptops have hardware where they can rewire the display to the other GPU if you choose this in the UEFI/BIOS menus. The Intel GPU is then completely off and the NVIDIA GPU is directly connected to the display and can fix tearing.

The other way is doing this in Linux in Xorg. The Intel GPU is still active and running the display. The NVIDIA GPU is running the X desktop and sending data to the Intel GPU that then sends it to the monitor. With that method, I heard there was something added to all involved software to make it possible to deal with tearing. But I don't know if you have to do something special to enable it. There might also be a bug somewhere, like in the latest 390 nvidia drivers.

Share
Save

nfm886
2 points
·
22 days ago
I mean, I selected Nvidia in nvidia-settings from PRIME Profiles: https://imgur.com/a/B0lMFG9

Share
Save

imguralbumbot
1 point
·
22 days ago
Hi, I'm a bot for linking direct images of albums with only 1 image

Source | Why? | Creator | ignoreme | deletthis

Share
Save

ropid
1 point
·
22 days ago
I was editing my earlier post while you were answering. Please go back and look at that other post again. Look at the last paragraph.

I don't quite know what to search for. Perhaps use something like "linux nvidia prime sync" with Google.

Share
Save

nfm886
1 point
·
22 days ago
Ok, I see.

Some laptops have hardware where they can rewire the display to the other GPU if you choose this in the UEFI/BIOS menus. The Intel GPU is then completely off and the NVIDIA GPU is directly connected to the display and can fix tearing.

Unfortunately, my laptop has not this options. It impossible to completely turn off Intel GPU.

Ok, I'm gonna read something about prime sync. Maybe there is solution.

However, If anybody has fixed screen tearing on Ubuntu 18.04, I'm appreciate for any help.

Share
Save

Leopard1907
1 point
·
22 days ago
Using Nvidia Prime and setting up Prime Sync properly from some terminal work.

Share
Save

Sort:  

Solved the screen tearing issue finally :-)

that's a mind boggling post phewwwwww

This just one of the more simple issues with Linux. If you like tinkering with software in stead of producing something, Linux is the way to go.

I dnt use it before i alslo hvnt a experience about linux.. can u tell me about details sir@pagandance?.
Thnxxx sir.☺

ALL big servers use Linux in stead of windows or Mac. It is stable and supposed to be much more impenetrable for attacks and spying than Windows. It's free and open source. But there are so many different projects with their own vision and own version, that they pay not enough attention to user friendliness and the whole thing stays in the amateurish phase. So most people that try it turn back to windows.

Not understand this article wording .

very few people do :-)

you may update the windows,,
I also faced as like as this problem..
Linux is best,,Why??

very good example you have here how Linux is still struggling to get things right

I have no experience for linux , am only use window and andorid

Android is actually based on Linux :-)

As a matter of fact I am going through the phase one of windows and getting really irritated about the updates that it has been bugging me quite some time !

While will have to bear it for some time :(

There may be help on the road ahead. But I guess it is still 5 years or more before it gets here. More about this on some other post ;-)

@pagandance,
Bro still trying to understand what you wrote here :O Anyway, I am a Windows guy! Hate open source Specially Linux

Cheers~

this is an example of screen tearing: the image is not stable and sometimes parts of the picture don't match parts above or under, very annoying

)

This graphics card is so good..i also use this,,
I think this is not graphics problem,@pagandance,,
you may check it up

@lafzaia, thnx for the help, put the issue ispurely linux related. when I switch to windows, the image is clear and stable.

I was just feeling frustrated with how the people of linux don't seem to make their products run smoother like windows or apple mac os.

That is the reason the adaptation of Linux on the laptop or desktop is almost zero compared to the other 2.

GOOD WORK YOU HAVE DONE,KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47