You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Linux Tips - DRYing up the Bash (incremental search)

in #linux7 years ago

After seeing a discussion in steemit.chat I wanted to go back through and add some sources to my old posts. Since this one is too old to edit, I'm leaving them here in a comment.

For most of these I actually used the tried and true method of bashing random keys on the keyboard and seeing the effect. It was tough finding real documentation for it, but the readline manual in section 3 of the man appears to contain a lot of this information, albeit a little less easy to parse. But if you see the section on SEARCHING, it also explains some more cool features, like forward search and restoring the original line.

Further down there's all the stuff I wished I had known about navigating the current command line even faster.

So, even though the readline manual looks like it's only of interest to someone writing code, scroll down, there's tons of good stuff in there.

Seriously though, I might have to read and practice all the cool stuff in there and come back with another article. Sure, it looks like esoteric crap that no mortal would need, but I bet there's some serious time saving stuff in there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60354.53
ETH 2608.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54