My Recent Experience With Linux

in #linux7 years ago

Recently, I decided to install Linux on my laptop. I did this mostly because of the recent ransomware breakout of Wannacrypt and the now spreading EternalRocks. The version of Linux I installed is Linux Mint 18 cinnamon, and the laptop is a Compaq Prescario CQ61. This laptop is now almost 9 years old, and Linux Mint runs incredibly fast, much faster than Windows 10. The installation took about an hour, and installing drivers was another 3 minutes. The software selection on Mint is fairly large. While you don't have Microsoft Office and other proprietary products, there are many open source alternatives that are in some cases, better than what they are alternatives to, and when you need to run a windows program, you can use Wine, an open source program that simulates the windows kernel to allow win32 apps to run on linux. Overall my experience with linux has been a good one, and I look forward to using it more.

Sorry for the lack of posts in the past few months. If there's anything you think I should talk about, suggestions are appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85