🖤 How useful is GNU? 🖤

in #linux7 years ago

So, I saw this and it really made me giggle.

B3863FD5-2A0F-4438-BEF1-83C6B3570256.jpeg

As most of you know, I’m biased when it comes to operating systems and their kernels because I use Windows to work, Apple to play and Linux just because I’m a smart cookie.

I’m kidding, I use it because I’m paranoid.

So, I thought to myself. Wellllll, how useful is GNU REALLY?

Let’s start simple, what is the definition of GNU? What does GNU really mean?

Well, I got this from the interwebs;

GNU is a recursive acronym for "GNU's Not Unix!", chosen because GNU's design is Unix-like, but differs from Unix by being free software and containing no Unix code. The GNU project includes an operating system kernel, GNU HURD, which was the original focus of the Free Software Foundation

Well, that doesn’t explain much, and would probably leave you like; HUUUUUH???? So, basically I got bored and clicked on the image section, trying to see if there’s anything of use.

4BE105DB-0D2A-4D0E-86B5-7578828D393E.png

This made me wonder if GNU is really, really free?
What price do we pay to be protected, as developers OR users?

Maybe I’m just missing the point in something being ‘free’.
Or does open sorce miss the point of free software? All in all it is debateable.

Gosh I think a post titled APPLE vs WINDOWS Zsadist LINUX would get a ton of hits, not only because we are opinionated individuals, but most people are passionate about their operating systems and swear by them being the BEST.

We are liberating liberal and embracing liberty.

Yay us, right?

Basically. GNU is ‘free speech’
Not
‘Free beer’.

So, is it really that useful? I mean, SURE no viruses and protected and and and, but a normal user would be more protected on windows than a GNU system or Apple system.

Ask yourself; are these freedoms virtually important? Are you ready to substitute your paid for programs for open source?

I mean, I wouldn’t substitute my itunes for a program that MIGHT work.
I’m not ready to give up my Corel draw for an open source graphic design program. GNU isn’t useful for an every day kind of use for me as an individual.

Why not?
Because I’m comfortable paying for something I know is going to work like it should.

Oh well, maybe I’m just ranting.

Love
🖤
Katrah

F4D02774-0E49-4119-8CF9-63A1169ECE98.jpeg

Sort:  

You had me at CorelDraw. The most despised piece of software amongst creatives. Not that they'd ever tried it. I've worked with Illustrator, InDesign, Freehand, etc. but Corel is way better by far.

Corel draw is my go-to for ALL my designs. It’s so easy and fast and works like a dreaaaam.

...you lost me at "but a normal user would be more protected on windows than a GNU system or Apple system"

Do you truly believe Windows is more secure than MacOS or Linux?
Oh, my little Kat lady in training.... I'm not so sure.

For someone simple like my mother, that only facebooks and has pictures on her laptop, or YouTube’s hallmark movies, I truest believe that windows are safer for them. I mean the firewall is sufficient for those kinds of things, and for example my dad who uses his MacBook to look at YouTube videos and do quotations on his laptop. Sure go ahead, you’re not doing anything funny.

We don't even know what is happening when we run it, its like a blackbox that does what windows does, but it also can do other things like spy on you or ruin your hardware on command, anything that you can imagine is possible. Also windows way of installing programs isn't great, yes its just press next but do you know what is happening? if you are lucky nothing bad but if not then hello viruses extensions and other stuff, in linux it may be one step more complicated like you need to know the command to install a program but its always the same you just need to know name of the program, and it is from repository so everyone uses it and it installs only the program and its requirements, nothing more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59