Digital Holiday PackingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #linux7 years ago

Tomorrow I will go to the countryside - and I am packing. Not underwear and such trivial things but files, passwords, computers, books, game-rules, comic pages etc.

In short:

Digital packing.

I never really relied to much on free commercial cloud services, I dislike having my personal things data-mined. But I have some server-space that acts as a password-protected cloud. Then I still use my 9 years old Asus eee PC 901 - durable and small and perfect when travelling. Only problem this year is that I tried to install the LXDE windows-manager instead of KDE. I did it to see if the much lighter system would increase speed and things, but it seems KDE is not as heavy and bloated as they say - and I realised how much I actually use the KDE features - and how much I prefer single-click to double-click. Kde allows you to customize that, but I haven't found it in LXDE.

I even have had problems installing essential things like AES-crypt and kde-connect, so when the Mageia team hopefully soon finishes Mageia 6 I will go for a slim KDE-install again.


My trusty friend. A 9 years old Asus eee PC 901


Sort:  

Don't forget your Wellingtons ;-)

That will be my next post:

HOW TO PACK A SHITLOAD OF WELLINGTONS!

Ah, they're lovely those little "netbooks". I still keep my eeepc 1000h going for that sort of thing. I went for lubuntu after all the efforts for dedicated eeepc linux flavours ran out.

When I use mine I've a routine bunch of text files that I work on and mirror to a server, saves lots of pinging back and forth of larger files and I think it's better for my thinking too, helps me to pare it down to basics.

have fun!

How fun! A brother in small, old eeepc! And you are right all the restrictions only work as a enhancer of my concentration. It's a special feeling to have all you need in such a small device. I even write differently, because of the small keyboard. Some years ago I made a lot of writing, and when I got stuck I took the 901 and went somewhere or just out in the kitchen, and suddenly I could think clear again.

If it is still working, it is good :) as long as you have something to take with you while traveling.

Nine years is a long time for a laptop - and I have used it a lot. Sometimes they just manufacture something that works... sometimes.

Great one. When we are going to holiday our digital instrument is a big problem in packing. Good one.

that's good to know I like your post thanks a lot for sharing and keep on posting ;)

very nice :) follow me and upvote my posts i'll do same :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58495.14
ETH 2461.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36