You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some Wine commands for beginners (run Windows applications on Linux, BSD and Mac)

in #linux7 years ago

Wine doesn't work all too well most of the time, and it can be alot of work to configure it. I just use Lutris, Steam, And playonlinux... chances are if the game doesn't run on any of them (since Lutris and playonlinux use wine) then its probably not going to work at all.

Sort:  

I've got almost 250 videos showing games running fine on Linux using Wine.
Plus hundreds other showings various tests ,bugs, DX10/11, etc. and many blog and video guides on how to use Wine.
Apparently Wine works fine for me... I can also tell you that it's easier to use than PlayOnLinux as I was first using it as the terminal frightened me at that time.
I never ever blamed Wine for not working and always pointed the finger at myself for not knowing enough.
Blame yourself if you can't get Wine to work, NOT Wine!
Lutris and PoL are graphical interfaces for Wine, there's nothing that you can't achieve from the command line (as said it's even easier once you know how to use it).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51