‘Why Use Linux?’ Answered In 3 Short Words

in #linux8 years ago

This post is not a typical post. I’m not going to change your life, or teach you a new trick. Instead I’m going to drag you down the rabbit hole…

I had to Google a rather dry grammatical enquiry from my sister earlier. See, she’s in the process of going back to college to study nursing and has become fastidious about punctuation in the process.

She turned to me because her iPhone did not, in her words, ‘give the correct answer’.

What she meant is that Siri didn’t give her the correct answer (or rather, an answer presented in a way she wanted). Like a lot of passive technology users the separation of device and service layer is moot. As far as she is concerned the thing she talks to to get answers is at fault, regardless of which bit.

I re-worded her query in a way that should bring up a better match (long tail search term, ahoy). I opened a new tab, went to Google, and began about slapping the attention-tangent into the search box.

But I stopped.

Before I could finish typing, as my finger only just left the last letter in the second keyword, my attention was harpooned by the auto-suggestions.

Read the full article here: http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2016/10/why-use-linux-answer-three-short-words

TL;DR "It Is Better"

Sort:  

How does this relate to Linux? couldn't you just post the actual article, feels a bit like clickbait.

Notice the @cheetah bot above? That's why I don't post full articles. I did provide the 3 words though.

Hehe, it was clickbait that worked on me and you. Let's see who else comes.

You got me there too! I followed the click bait because I need to learn linux. So thanks, I'll still follow the link through.

Define better... If you game windows is far better.... If you don't game then linux is the superior OS

Very good point. I wish I could throw my Windows away but dammit I like PC Games.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62036.41
ETH 2418.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61