Fixing Font Rendering Issues In Ubuntu Bionic Beaver LTS

in #linux6 years ago

18.04_beaver_wp_4096x2304_optimized_AW.png

People that matter have caught up with my observation about Linux Ubuntu 18.04 having issues with font rendering in Atom. There are actually three parts of the discussion I ran across while digging for a solution: Chromium, Electron, and FreeType. It turns out the system wide "fix" requires downgrading libfreetype6. I believe, but am not certain, the issue has been addressed in Atom 1.2.6, but this does not deal with Discord and other apps. While you can scale the font up in Discord's settings to make the problem less pronounced, it is not an ideal solution.

I followed these steps to resolve the issue on a clean install of Ubuntu 18.04 LTS.

sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ artful-updates main"
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install libfreetype6=2.8-0.2ubuntu2.1
sudo apt-mark hold libfreetype6


| Canonical Bug Report | Atom Bug Report on GitHub | FreeType | Chromium | Electron | Atom | Discord | Ubuntu |

Disclaimer: this might not work for you, I am wrong a lot, be careful with sudo.

Sort:  

Nice. You should do an article on your Atom setup and plugins. I was using Atom for long,but I fell in love with vscode for Python projects. I'm also a big vim user.

If I did write such an article it would probably say, "Use Visual Studio Code if you are working with Python". I am just learning Python so I am sticking with Atom, but when it comes to linting, installing dependencies, working with env, and setting a default python version VSC is far and away easier. I could never get Atom on par. In the end I decided to use no plugins until I understand what is going on rather than having the "IDE" do it for me.

Good approach. See so many brainless vscode developers that just let vscode to everything for them, but if you take their dev environment away or were to delete it, they would have no idea how to recreate it. Lol. Thanks nice article!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63006.79
ETH 2456.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59