You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Linkin Park. Suicide. Sadness. Hope.

in #linkinpark7 years ago

Did you read the New York Times feature they did on him? I thought that it was particularly good, if you haven't.

I had a similar experience with Linkin Park; they definitely make up a lot of the soundtrack to "coming of age" for me (I started listening to them around 7th grade?).

I just wanted to throw something out, though:

It's easy for me to sit here and ask how could such a talent, a superstar, a "wealthy" person who lives what he loves arrive at a place where he saw no way out, no other option, or did not care enough do make a different decision? Any kind of judgement on my behalf requires far too many assumptions. Who am I to judge?

It goes beyond not judging. Mental health issues, especially major depressive disorder or depression, don't discriminate based on class, success, family, or talent. The second that we start saying who is and isn't worthy of having a mental illness is the moment that we start insinuating that only some people are deserving of care, that mental health problems are preventable.

They aren't. <3

Sounds like you're having a bit of a rough time—though I like the note you ended on. Life will always be busy and tiring, though, so be sure you have systems in place to take care of you.

Sort:  

Thanks for the reply @rachelburger, I think it was 9th grade for me.

You're right that it is beyond judgement, I certainly take your comments on board. Though I do believe there is a lifestyle element to all diseases that shouldn't be overlooked.

I'm a positive person and life is good, so it was probably just reflecting on this topic at the end of a long week that was coming through rather than me currently having a rough time.

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10