→ 50 Useful Things About Japan

in #link6 years ago

This is an interesting video. Despite being here for over a dozen years, there for a few here I didn't know (the sword stuff towards the end). Watch the video then read some of my comments below.

  • No. 4 Too many dentists. Oh boy—yeah, this is a real thing. As a result of too much competition, they are constantly going bankrupt and closing. But it seems like for every one that closes, five more open. Many reasons why, but suffice to say it is a real problem. You see them on every block, more often than convenience stores, more often than Starbucks or McDonalds, more often than people.

  • No. 8 It took me a long time to get used to this. The Japanese system actually isn't that bad, but it is way different than we are used to in the West.

  • No. 13 "Even central heating and cooling". I have only seen central air and heat in Hokkaido and in very rich houses in Tokyo. God willing it comes to the rest of Japan someday.

  • No. 19 Yeah, it's crazy. This is why I don't drive much outside of the city here.

  • No. 29 They don't mention that Japanese CDs can cost around ¥3000 on average (about $30) and DVDs around ¥5000 ($50). I still have never gotten a straight answer as to why media is so incredibly expensive here.

    • I suppose one reason may be to make up lost money from all the rental shops which encourage copying (they typically sell DVD recorders and blank CDs/DVDs right next to the moves and music). I don't know how rental shops get away with this behavior.
  • No. 37 I love cicadas.

  • No. 41 While this is true, just about everyone uses this as an excuse to not buy deodorant. As a result, enter any train in summer and the stench is overpowering.

Interesting stuff!

Link Blog

Back when I had my own website, I used to post a few random links everyday or every few days, in the style of http://kottke.org or http://daringfireball.net. Readers seemed to enjoy seeing them.

To signify a link post, I'll put an arrow (→) at the beginning of the title to show you guys it is a link post and that you can skip it if such things don't interest you.

Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time. More?

If this blog post has entertained or helped you, please follow/upvote/resteem. Also, consider buying me a beer.

BTC: 1Gvrie5FDBNBb6YpGBiaTvA5AyvsP814BN
ETH: 0x2Ce5c2b5F3f1a888b50A7bA9002E4F742784dF9c
LTC: LUVLvatsFqCubrJAVmCNQaoUdFAdnUCysU
BCH: qrzdazep5xfxax0ydppun89cxfts2vup9q4wnfn025

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74