Lincoln England

in #lincoln6 years ago

In case I didn’t mention it, I jumped in my car and drove on up to Lincoln a couple times as there’s so much to do and it’s comparatively close to where I lived. This is quite a large city and as cities of this size go there’s a ton of things to do. I wandered down to the city center as I’ve learned that it’s normally the mecca for each city.

Lincoln is indeed an ancient and well kept town. You can see how British the town is in the pictures, narrow cobble stone streets lined with shops, totally enjoyable. I located a place to park and walked downtown to get a feel for the city. I had a friend of mine with me who is a connoisseur of whiskey and what do we see on the first street? A store totally devoted to the stuff. I had no idea there were so many types of whiskey until that day and some of the bottles were prohibitively expensive. As I recall, there were a few bottles that exceeded $15,000 per bottle and I imagine there were others more expensive than that. Anyhow, after dragging ourselves out of that place we went on to a square where you can walk around the town or head in to the Cathedral complex.
Burghley Castle England  8-20-2010 9-30-42 PM 2048x1536.jpg
Accessing part of this city requires walking down a steep cobblestone street. There are plenty of shops to visit with vendors offering everything you can think of from cars to handmade crafts. If you’re into whiskey from all over the world, there’s a shop in downtown that’ll keep you looking for quite some time. There’s also a horse draw carriage you can rent and will be driven throughout the city on a sightseeing tour.

Hey, where else can you see two people that have spray painted themselves gold and are acting like statues? Other than Lincoln I can only think of a few places where street actors engaged in similar activities. Fortunately there was a restaurant directly across from these two people so I sat down ordered a drink and proceeded to see how long they could last.

As I recall they outlasted me as my drink ran out and I wandered away. That and this was also a point where you enter the Lincolnshire cathedral grounds and where horse n buggy tours begin. I’m not sure if you know this but horses do not care where they are when it’s time to relieve themselves . Eeeeven if it is next to two people acting as statues and adjacent to an outdoor restaurant. So, I got up and left. The statue people suffered through it all and remained standing and my hat is off to them.

Lincoln has a huge shopping area downtown so I of course headed in that direction to do some shopping. On the way I passed a variety of little shops that appeared as if they’d been there since the Romans and were filled with antiques. A great place to browse if you’re into those type of things. I did spend a bit of time searching for a suit of armor I could get in a suitcase but was unable to locate such a thing. Not a souvenir type of thing that was made in China and sold to uninformed tourists but the real thing. By the time I got to Lincoln I was not a typical uninformed foreign tourist but a battle hardened power tourist with a home base in the country.

Anyhow, the shopping district was filled with modern buildings you can see anywhere and filled to the brim with modern conveniences including clothes, home appliances and loads of trinkets tourists can’t live without.

Loved it and returned a few more times as a buddy of mine showed up from the states and managed to locate an enormous outdoor flea market he just had to visit. So, off we went to Lincolns again but this time to browse the largest junkyard I’d ever seen.

Visit my other Social Media and Travel sites as I develop them. https://wp.me/P3CC9J-6vq

Wizard of Where

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48