"...But He Drowned" - A Limerick

in #limerickcontest7 years ago (edited)

"My highest aspiration in life is to serve as the Limerick Laureate of Nantucket." - Alan C. Baird

I think that limericks are a blast.

At this "slow" moment for Steemit, authors grumbling about the changeover in how the reward pool works, it's a good thing that @writing-trail's limerick contest has some "built in" draw to it.

What brought me back today is the sheer joy of futzing around with this entertaining poetry form.

As you know, the first line of every limerick entry must end with the word "NED."

To make this challenge more fun, I added a couple of additional personal constraints.

Once again, I have managed to end every line with "NED."
I again threw in a surplus of "NED"s, just for the fun of it.
Result? More NEDs today than yesterday! Count 'em!

I hope you'll enjoy "...But He Drowned!

Would have won, but he drowned...

Would have won, but he drowned...
Photo courtesy of Jacob Walti and http://unsplash.com

Here's my entry number two

in @writing-trail's "WRITE A LIMERICK" contest:


"...But He Drowned"

The poet left no phrase unturned,
Unconstrained and unchained, rest he spurned.
Chagrined rivals he flattened,
his thinned wallet he fattened,
but he drowned, so his prize was returned.


Is that enough "NED"s for you? Did you count the NEDs?

I'm looking forward to your comments below... 😉


IMPORTANT NOTE: In the new HF18 Steemit economy with a longer-period reward pool, I really need you, my faithful readers and followers to "go back" and see what you may have missed. YOUR "LATE" UPVOTES NOW COUNT!

If you enjoyed this, you might also like all my entries:

"Can You Count The 'NED's?"
"...But He Drowned"
"Flaunter Jane"

Please do visit, enjoy, and up vote my previous posts! These days, it matters! ;)


~FIN~


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Nice use of "ned." Very creative!

I guess I saw that contest post and retained the idea for a limerick but forgot about the post and the contest. It's odd how the mind works. I just posted a limerick here. Now that I see the contest from two days ago, that's got to be what prompted it, but it had totally slipped my mind.

Thanks, Steve, for the compliment and taking time to comment! Feedback is great! ;)

I hope you'll try entering this particular contest... you need not go "over the top" as I have! :)

Very clever! You are a master of limericks.

Thank you, @opheliafu, that is very high praise indeed! ;)

I got ten that time.

I had better penning a few lines of my own ...
Thank so much for being a great sport and a generous supporter of the contests we put together - there are more to come!!

Hey, friend! Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting! :)

And thanks for all the fun. ;) You can probably tell that I love limericks... :D

Thank you for posting @creatr.

Well done.....it seems limericks are your bailiwick.

All the best. Cheers.

Thanks, @bleujay, for stopping by to comment! All the best to you and yours!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02