Hey look, I won the first Limerick Contest!

in #limerickcontest8 years ago

So, yesterday I was feeling pretty down and ready to quit Steemit because a really great post of mine had gotten flagged for no good reason at all. And then I just found out that:

I won the first Limerick contest!

 

Now I'm feeling like these people:


Image by Will Ellis on flickr

That's pretty awesome. Okay, fine, maybe I'll stick around a bit…

Thank you @ebryans, @writing-trail, and @gardenlady for your various roles in the contest. I look forward to seeing what other good limericks come out of future contests. (Or bad limericks...but really, bad limericks are the best…). Also, congrats to @whatageek and @aubreyfox for their entries, and everyone else who composed a rhyme or two for the contest.

On the occasion of my win, I've composed another piece:

I once wrote a lick of a rhyme,
That @ebryans judged was a prime
example of words,
and you may have heard
that my limerick has won me a dime.

Well, more than a dime – 10 steem to be precise. But a dime is ten, too, so it works. Kind of…

Thank you all! I look forward to the next contest.

Sort:  

To read this post makes a whole lot of effort worthwhile. Thank you.
We have all been treated to downvotes and general poor decision making as the powers that be try to finesse towards a better system.
Rise above the dross and laugh at ourselves and the flaws we share.
Namaste.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68356.90
ETH 2509.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53