Light The World, Day 9: I Was Sick, And You Visited Me

First of all, thank you so much for taking time to read my personal story on why you should embrace the Lord. Thank you so much @hanshotfirst and @gavvet for making this all happen. Day 9: #lighttheworld

*I'm not native English, so please excuse me for any grammatical errors during this post.

"I Was Sick, And You Visited Me"

-Matthew 25:36

On the official website, this is what they say:

Sickness and hard times affect us all eventually. We can help lift those who are suffering, even if all we do is devote a little time to visiting them.

WAYS YOU CAN COMFORT THE SICK

-Did you know that there’s a shortage of donations of all blood types around the winter holidays?

Give blood at your local blood bank today.

-Did you know that 60% of those in nursing homes will never have a visitor during their stay?

Go visit a resident to lift someone’s spirits today.

-Could a family member or friend use some spiritual medicine?

Resolve to pray daily for your loved ones who need spiritual strength or healing.

tattoojezus

My very own story in Life.

"You are a lucky man Tomasso, you have everything to be happy. You have a wife, a home, a car, a dog, some money, dude you got it all"

I got these comments from like so many people I've met. Family, friends, relatives and even people I know for a couple days or hours. I live life in such way, that it looks like I got it all. People describe me as outgoing, positive and funny. I can tell you, I have developed such a wall around me, that it can look like I'm a happy person, but deep inside, I feel sht.

While I'm typing this, I wonder why I do this. I never talk openly about feelings, never put my thoughts on paper or even like to talk about my problems. I know that I am not alone, so maybe this story can benefit you, the way you look at people, become more interested in the people around you. Don't judge books by their covers, it might be a facade.

I was 11 months when my mom died. I still don't know why God took her there and then, but she is a star and I know she is here with me when I write this story. I'm typing and get that weird feeling in my troth like if you want to cry. 30 Years have gone past, but still, miss her every single day.

I also had a dad, who left my mom for somebody else when she was dying in Hospital. Leaving 2 toddlers (also have a sister who is 2 years older) He didn't respect my mother in her last moments on this planet. He left us and even moved to Turkey. Long story short, me and my sister went to a foster home for 2 years and finally got adopted by 2 amazing, caring persons who I called mum and dad from the moment they took us in their life.

depressed

Everything went fine from that point. Until I was 21, I didn't have many troubles. Just living my life. At 21, I started to feel depressed, using several kinds of drugs and got an alcohol problem. For so many years I had to be a person that was lucky with the opportunities my new parents gave me.

Everybody I knew was losing interest in me, I got fired, lost my girlfriend, got into trouble with the law and all that kind of stuff. Months ago, everybody wanted to be like me, be with me. "But where are they now" I thought, when lying in a clinic for addiction problems. In 9 months, only my parents and my sister came to visit me.

Where were my numerous 'friends'? I felt alone, not understood. My depression got me almost killed 7 times. I tried to hang myself 6 times and overdosed once. Wow I couldnt believe nobody cared, my mental illness drove everybody away. The guy 'that had it all'. Alone on this planet, until day 119 of my rehab program.

The day after my last attempt to take my life, my doctor got killed in a car accident.. The nurse who came to tell me what happened stayed with me for hours. Since that day she came to visit me, every single day. Sometimes we chatted for hours and the first time in my life I tell somebody how I miss my real mom. Djeee I was crying like a little boy. I get the shiver when i say this to you, and my screen gets blurry. God sended me another Angel. Today I call her my wife.

wedding

She pulled me out of misery, gave me back my life. I love her to pieces.

What she did there and then, when all my hope was lost. I couldn't believe that anyone could be so genuinely nice and caring for other people. But it's her way of life, she loves people more then anything. She is my biggest excample on how I should handle people. Not only the people who look good, have a good job, are healthy. But you should look out for people who are sick, have issues, have mental issues you cant see, if you only read their cover.

My advice for today is:

Go to a homeless shelter, a hospital, an old people home (dont know the word). Look around you. Who's life you can benefit for just being there for them. Listen to their stories, ask questions and be genuine.

You care, you are a good person who want to make peoples life BETTER. We all like to hang around people who are fresh and healthy. But today, you will talk to someone who really needs you.

I know God takes and gives. Embrace the things you take for granted because you can lose all you have in a blink of an eye. Cherish moments with people around you, and care for every single person you've met. Today, but please not only today, help the people who are less fortunate.

Dont judge a book by their cover. Ask questions and you will find.

-Tomasso aka @whatsthatcryptom

This personal post I want to dedicate to my wife Nicola, who got diagnosed with breast cancer 60 days ago. Surgery went fine and all is looking good for us! She is an inspirational, loving person who everybody should meet. You rock my world girl, and I will never leave your side <3

https://www.mormon.org/christmas/25-ways-25-days/day-9

Sort:  

Congratulations @whatsthatcryptom! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63180.80
ETH 3418.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46