You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself." #LightTheWorld day 4

in #lighttheworld7 years ago

Just this week in church we were looking at Matthew , 22:15-22, which I think applies deeply to what it looks like to be a loving neighbor.

Matthew 22:18-21
18 But Jesus, knowing their evil intent, said, “You hypocrites, why are you trying to trap me? 19 Show me the coin used for paying the tax.” They brought him a denarius, 20 and he asked them, “Whose image is this? And whose inscription?”
21 “Caesar’s,” they replied.
Then he said to them, “So give back to Caesar what is Caesar’s, and to God what is God’s.”

At church our pastor spoke with a focus on verse 19 and how first, Jesus doesnt have any money on him, and second the coin would proclaim Cesaer as King and son of god, so a Jew shouldn't be owing this if he really believes in God, which makes it ironic that the Pharisee had the coin. But most importantly this idea of Give to Caesar what is Caesars, and to God what is God's is very closely attached to your call, God's call, for us to be loving to one another.

Here you see Jesus saying, do you come under the worldly king, king Caesar, identifying your value in your reputation, wealth, worldly power and comfort, or do you come under King Jesus and all that this involves. Because if you actually give to God what is God's that will necessarily include your heart, mind and soul, and this proximity to God is not possible unless we are daily striving to be this light you are asking of us, which God is asking of us.

So since that sermon I'm asking myself, how do I answer this question? I do profess the name of Jesus but do I live that way too? Do I show it by loving and serving sacrificially? Do I walk with Jesus and ask him to change me in His power and for his glory? Truth is, I do not love and serve the way I believe God would want me to.

All this to say, thanks for the message. Your post is a needed reminder, I feel called to be more loving and your post is one reminder of the path He has for me. Thanks. Blessings.

#lighttheworld

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64015.61
ETH 3429.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54