"I was a stranger, and ye took me in."—Matthew 25:35

in #lighttheworld7 years ago

Jesus taught:
"I was a stranger, and ye took me in."—Matthew 25:35
We find it easy to serve and show kindness to people we already know and love. But we don’t fully follow the Savior’s example until we extend that same kindness to people we don’t know.
Ways you can help a stranger
Which one of your coworkers do you know the least?
Invite the person to lunch to get to know him or her better.
Has a stranger ever done something nice for you?
Determine a way to pay the kind act forward.

 It is so easy to pay it forward. 

 

image source

When my son was in his matric year, it was very hard for me as I had just lost my daughter to go to University and that was very hard. 

You do not understand if you do not have children how difficult it is when they start leaving home.

image source

You always had them nearby, and were able to keep an eye on them without them knowing. Sometimes even when they grow up, they do still come to you with a problem even a small one.

So the Empty nest syndrome really gets mothers more down than you can expect. 

Because we only have these two children only little more than a year apart this was like a night mare to me. 

My son had to go to the defence force the next year, which made me realise we were at the end of a certain era in our life.

image source

 All men had to go to the Defence Force after school. It did not matter that they wanted to study. They could go and study first but after graduation they had to go. 

My Son decided that he would prefer to get it over and done with and then go and study. 

This is just a way to show you my frame of mind at that time, as my daughter was out of the house and this defence force nightmare lay ahead of me a year from now. 

image source

There was a Pastor who was transferred, we did not know them, but his son was in my son’s class. 

So we did know the child as he use to visit us. One day he came and told us that his father was transferred.  

That is now in his matric year, and he was very worried and did not want to leave school, at that stage for a new school. 

My husband and I decided that we would take him in for the year so that he could finish his matric that year. 

Little did I know how hard it would be as boys of that age eat like a whole army can on their own? We did have an extra room as we had our daughter gone. 

My husband went and spoke to his parents and they said, it would be wonderful if he could live with us for a year as they were really struggling to survive, and it would just mean that they did not have to go and buy new school clothes for him. He had a few brothers and sisters as well.

 I only realised after they had left him with us that it is not easy bringing someone into your home. He missed his parents and he was not at all use to our way of life. 

I do not know who found it more difficult him or us. He did not eat the same kind of food I gave my children, and I use to make him food the way he wanted it as I felt sorry for him because he missed his parents very much. 

That whole year they did not visit him once, or even take him home for school holidays as they said it would be too difficult where they were living. 

The people there were different and he would not know any person at all. So for that whole year I had these two boys who really ate me out the house.

image source

 But to me it was important to keep him happy as it could not have been easy for him. 

That is someone we took in without thinking and we tried our best to keep him happy. So I feel we did the right thing. 

At the end of the year after writing matric, his parents came to fetch him and gave us the most beautiful bible that I had ever seen. 

image source

They were so thankful and we did enjoy it in the end as we were with one less child, as she was at university. 

To me they had paid it forward with this beautiful bible that we use so often as it has the three bibles we use in South Africa all in one. 

image source

The first is the one, my husband and I used as children. Later a new revised bible came out, that was the second part of this bible and the last was an English bible. 

Now when writing here on steemit we use it very often as we do not have any other English bible. 

This is my story of verse: “I was a stranger, and ye took me in."—Matthew 25:35

 I hope you enjoyed my story and may you have a wonderful day.  


Sort:  

Great post and good writing.i like your post and upvoted.

Thank you for your support every day I really appreciate it very much.

You are welcome @bigbear, I have a new post, do not forget to visit ya, let me add the spirit in steemit.

Great works, I wish you success

Thank you so much I really appreciate it.

You are welcome @bigbear,

Well done. Have a good day!

Thank you so much you must enjoy yours as well.

:) followed you

Thank you so much same here.

My husband will also follow you. :)

Thanks @bigbear who is your husband? Name...

well job👍👍 dear @bigbear

Thanks for the thubs up.

Wonderful post dear @bigbear 👈

Thank you so much, I love replies.

excellent story! i like it

Thank you so much my friend, you are always nice to me

With the help of your help, I first withdrew from Steemit, to be happy, thank you so much for keep supporting.

Thank you so much.

always enlightening stuff, perfect for a Monday morning ! :)

Thank you so much. You are always a nice face to see here.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bigbear to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you so very much.

Thank you so much love replies.

I didn't know Frans had a 'sister' and I also did not know someone was staying with you. Those boys eat like horses, they eat anything that can be eaten. Glad you survived the year

Yes they can thank you so much, she was not family, just someone his mother took in but felt like a sister to him thank you my wonderful friend. Love this dog praying that he just showed me know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77