Top 5 things I learned leaving the "rat race"

in #lifestyle6 years ago

Working a demanding full-time job, I was cranking out 60+ hour work weeks. The money was great.

Then I became inspired to put my health first after reading about the Amish and others who dedicated themselves to leaving the "rat race." I’m 33 with no kids, a reasonably priced mortgage and few living expenses. I recognize not everyone can do what I did, and leave the rat race with 6-8 hours a week working odd jobs here and there. I’m not trying to convince others to follow my path either. I just want to share what happened to me when I did, because some things truly caught me off guard. This transition has been nothing short of transformational.

stock-photo-businessman-running-on-hamster-wheel-582227104.jpg

1.) I have WAY less desire to buy things

This one really surprised me. I falsely assumed that by spending 40 extra hours a week in the “real world,” (As opposed to in my office) that’d be 40 more hours I’d be tempted to spend money. I worried that I’d spend money out of boredom. I thought I’d need to be super disciplined to reduce my budget more since I’d be making less money. Nothing could have been further from the truth.

In reality, I’ve spent far less money now that I’m not working full time (it’s not even close) and I’ve done a lot of reflecting about why there's no urge or temptation to do so. I’ve narrowed the reason down to one reason: Reduced Stress.

I don’t think I could have possibly noticed this while in the rat race, but stress was causing me to spend more money. Not just on stress relief items such as vacations, comfort food, restaurant trips, etc. but also on every day items. As an added bonus, I now have more time to be thrifty (yard sales, thrift stores, finding coupons, etc.). I’m also sick less, so I spend less money on wellness products. While I can't prove it, I'd also like to think the reduced stress is reducing my chances of large expenses down the road like heart surgery, cancer care, etc.

So although I’m making far less money, I’m spending far less money too and way happier. Money is likely the #1 reason people don't leave the rat race, but I suspect that, for some, it won't be as hard as they think.

2.) I'm more patient

About a week after I left the rat race, I was eating lunch and realizing that I was still rushing through the meal as if I had some place to be. I didn't. This was simply a habit I developed as I'd typically eat my lunch really quickly so I could rush back to the rat wheel (hehem, I mean my office).

I had to remind myself, "Dude, slow down! Enjoy your meal, there's no reason to rush." It was an amazing feel, and it was the first step in me slowing down. If someone cuts me off while driving or beeps their horn at me, I don't find myself becoming agitated as easily. I used to think I was an impatient person. Now I realize that the stress of my job was making me impatient. It's like without the chains of my job, I'm learning who I truly am.

3.) I'm less dependent on my phone

I’ve always desired being on my phone less. A little over a year ago, I gave up social media in attempt to decrease screen time. However, I just filled the old social media time with other excuses to be on my phone, so my screen time stayed the same. Not having my work email on my phone has allowed me to step away without fear of missing an important email or phone call. I feel more engaged with the people around me and less dependent on my device. I’ve even adapted my phone plan to save more money each month since I’m using less data than before.

It may sound odd, but it feels AMAZING when someone coordinates plans with me and I don't have to whip out my phone and look at my calendar. I automatically know I'm available. This brings me joy.

4.) Sleeping better

Maybe it’s the fact that I turn my cell phone off every night. Maybe it’s because I don’t have work on my mind when I go to sleep. Maybe it’s because I’ve decreased screen time and am receiving less blue light. Whatever the reason, I’m sleeping better at night. I sleep in the same environment, so there’s no other way to explain this than to say my job was causing me to sleep less and have less quality sleep.

5.) I feel bad for people in the rat race still

Okay, I own that this may come off as judgmental or elitist, but when I'm out jogging in the morning see people sitting in rush hour traffic on their way to their rat wheel, I now look at them entirely differently. Part of me is sad for them. Part of me sees my former self behind their sad eyes. Part of me wants to tell them my story in case there's event a 1% chance it could inspire them. They don't look happy through the windshields of their cars.

Since it's not socially acceptable for me to knock on car windows of strangers and tell people my story...I'll just have to settle for this Steemit post and hope ya'll will consider sharing my story...

Sort:  

It is often said that Stress goes a long way in affecting one's health, even though you might not realize it. You may even be thinking that your frequent illness is to blame for that nagging headache, or even your decreased productivity at work. It is good to know that you have finally left the "rat race". Stress can kill....

Congratulations @thoreau45! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Follow your dreams ! @thoreau45

Congratulations @thoreau45! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42