Disconnecting from Social Media

in #lifestyle6 years ago

IMG_0142 exp 2.jpg

“SOCIAL MEDIA IS LIKE CRACK—IMMEDIATELY GRATIFYING AND HUGELY ADDICTIVE.” – GARY VAYNERCHUK

Started 2018 trying to disconnect from social media. I am challenging myself to have barely any social media apps on my phone at least for the month of January.

Don’t get me wrong. I do love social media, especially Instagram. But I find myself spending so much time on it on a daily basis that I feel it takes away from time I could be creating or just being present in the moment. Instead I am “consuming” other people’s lives, senselessly scrolling through my feed.

Even if you try not to, you end up comparing yourself (your work) to what others are sharing. It might be stopping you from creating more. You might even think there’s no point as you will never be as good. Or you might try to recreate what others are doing and lose yourself in it. Your passion will be gone soon if you are creating just to please others. Makes no sense to be working on something you are not going to love (unless you are getting paid for it).

No more waking up and staying in bed for a while just scrolling through Instagram or the Facebook feed.

Deleted apps: Instagram, Facebook, Snapchat and LinkedIn.
Keeping: Facebook Pages and Messenger, EyeEm (stock photography), Bloglovin’ and YouTube.

I will get back to you at some point to let you know how life without social media is going.

Final note: this article was originally posted on my website thewordbyana.com

Sort:  

Congratulations @theworldbyana! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @theworldbyana! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01