How long does it take to form healthy fitness habits (and stop drinking gin and tonic)?

in #lifestyle7 years ago


If a week is a long time in politics, it’s even longer when you’re on a diet - sorry healthy eating regime.

Just seven days ago my resolve was seemingly unshakeable but a hectic week has seen fatal faultlines develop; skipped meals, an irresistible plate of home made lasagne, gin and tonics.

It’s hard not to feel a bit despondent, after all my goal is to shed weight for my health. Back in September I visited the state of the art metabolic laboratory in Newcastle University’s medical department, where I underwent a raft of tests that revealed my biological age is 20 years older than my birth age.

That means I am at risk of diseases associated with ageing such as cancer, diabetes and Alzheimer’s. The reason for this in my case is weight; although I don’t look heavy, I am quite simply too fat for my frame.

Sort:  

Congratulations @steemitbit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51