You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Story of Money: Work, Wage Labor, and What makes us us?

in #lifestyle7 years ago

Hey @itchykitten what a great post!! But before I go any further, what happened with the bikers? did they strip off and join you? :D People tend to subconsciously put everyone they meet into categories, but to live outside the box will often put them on the back foot. Indeed to be aware of the subconcious is to free yourself from the perception and expectations that others have placed upon you. It's interesting that we have come to perceive money as success, often without questioning what success is? Indeed is the football player that's paid millions a week more successful than the nurse that gets paid a pittence and yet saves lives and offers comfort at our darkest times. What is success but a perception in the minds of the public? is your success my success? We are born into a world that has in many ways already definined the parameters of this debate and so unquestionably we seem to allow others to define it for us. This is sadly often at the detriment of personal success and fulfillment, as such I believe in many ways this has caused great damage to the collective psyche of humanity. Great post as always my friend.

Sort:  

so unquestionably we seem to allow others to define it for us

oh man, that is poignant for me.

But before I go any further, what happened with the bikers? did they strip off and join you?

They didn't. I'm not sure what they were expecting, but after standing around for a while looking uncomfortable, they turned around and headed back to the road.

Indeed is the football player that's paid millions a week more successful than the nurse that gets paid a pittence and yet saves lives and offers comfort at our darkest times.

Yeah, this used to make me mad. I don't get as upset these days, but why the fuck? Sometimes I think about all the collective focus and attention people give to celebrities and sports teams and it feels so sad, all these people focused on these screen people, like a big one-way outflow of energy that is never returned.

I'm not sure that's all that accurate, but I guess I'm not really into watching sports or television for that matter.

What kind of success do you want in your life? I've sort of acknowledged lately I want to be loved, and admired, and feel like I've thrown down for something beautiful that nourishes our world.

Success for me my friend is personal happiness. I don't mean that in a selfish sense of the word, but to find happiness from within enables you to radiate it out and help other people on their journey. We all need money to help us on our way but equally there are many people with millions in the bank that find neither happiness or self worth. I guess in many ways life is the pursuit of happiness and balance, we just have different perceptions on how this can be acheived. When I pass, if people remember me with a smile in their face and love in their heart then my life will have been a success.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59856.14
ETH 2986.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63