ARE YOU REALLY A MINIMALIST OR YOU BROKE?

in #lifestyle5 years ago (edited)

wedding-1470330_1280.jpgSOURCE
`
I am currently laughing as i am writing this post. 😂😂😂 I laugh when i think of every person i have met claiming to be a minimalist but the naked truth is that they are actually broke. I am not exempted from this because i have just realized that i haven't really been a minimalist all these while but actually broke.

First i have to explain what minimalism really entails before we judge. Vocabulary.com decribes a minimalist person as someone who has choose to live a completely simple life free from alot of materialist things. A minimalist person may decide not to make up anymore, fix her nails anymore, wear artificial hairs anymore, stop buying and stop wearing accessories like rings, necklaces etc. You see that picture above, thats a typical minimalist dressing.

From this description, being a minimalist should be by choice and not just a last option in a difficult situation. Recently, i was lucky to have some of my investments which i had even forgotten a long time ago pay off handsomely and i had some spare cash. I started feeling like i needed somethings i didn't think was necessary.

Before i thought wearing a wrist watch isn't necessary because i had my phone with me always and i could easily check for the time on my phone but when the money came, i started having the urge of getting a wrist watch, dying and styling my hair instead of my normal low cut. The worst part of it is that i still did it because i had the money and i know it will look good on me.

My point is do you think you are a minimalist because you really fancy a simple lifestyle or because you are broke and can't afford a flashy lifestyle. Another way to see this is, does being a minimalist depend on your financial status? Would you still be a minimalist if could afford a flashy lifestyle tomorrow? Thanks for reading and do not hesitate to reply below.

YOURS
@PARAMIMD

Sort:  

@paramimd
Minimalists have more fun! 😊

/FF

Oh my lost friend @friendly-fenix Where have you been? Did you take a break from steemit or something? And are you a minimalist?

Im still here @paramimd... =) Check out my blog, to see what you missed... =)

/FF

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55