My love for cool footwear

in #lifestyle6 years ago (edited)

7458EFBA-76C0-4DD7-BABF-ECA752F7F512.jpeg

My love for footwear started from a really young age. One vivid memory I have was my Dad taking me to Shelly’s in Oxford Circus, London to buy a pair of Dr Marten boots. Now, these weren’t just any Dr Martens, mine were red tartan material. The most outrageous pair in the shop and I loved them. Unfortunately, they didn’t last long, within a week the material ripped at the front so Mum managed to negotiate an exchange from Shelly’s, I decided to go for the purple leather Dr Martens. Not as bold, but still really funky!
That was 25 years ago and I still love Dr Martens, a subtle pair of navy blue DM’s in the same style and a Chelsea boot sit in my wardrobe.

3513E2CC-4F89-4AD5-8094-7E604C90CC8E.jpeg

The second memory is my Dad bringing home a pair of baby pink converse from a shop in the west end, one of those really cool back street shops that sold exclusives (you can still find these now!) This particular pair of converse were hot off the ship (apparently) and had made their way from America. Bare in mind this was during the very early 90s, way before the internet and online shopping! I’ve owned so many Converse trainers since then. My favourite and most up to date are my Comme de Garçon black and white converse with a love heart at the side. Im really feeling the new 1970s style of converse at the moment!

88DECA63-86E9-4CCB-8CBE-41AA80FB2BD8.jpeg

Reebok Classics! I’ve owned most reebok classics from 93’ onwards. And I still own a pair of reebok! Reebok remind me of my childhood, travelling to JD sports by bus and begging Mum to buy me a fresh white pair that she new would be dirty within a week.

B66F8BF2-0B23-4597-A7ED-9E48BD38A4CE.jpeg

Towards the end of school, late 90s is when my love for Nike trainers started- probably a lot later than most Nike heads. Nike didn’t really do it for me until I bought my first pair of Nike TN trainers in sky blue colour. Around the same time the Nike Air Max 95 flourescent trainers came out in pink, yellow and blue- but I loved the TN’s more. My mate and I travelled to Footlocker in Camden (first one to open) and I bought my TN’s. On the way home I was scared I was going to get robbed so I made sure I hopped on the bus real quick back to Paddington. Walking for the first time in my Nike TNs around Paddington was special. Any young person I saw would comment on my trainers. I’m smiling right now thinking about them days! Best feeling.

Not the Nike TNs I owned. These are a darker blue, same shape and similar year made.
3509ADBA-244A-48D9-9F95-CD9E1D092332.jpeg

Since the TNs I’ve owned a few more pairs of Nike. The most recent being my favourite Nike trainer ever made —the silver Bullets. I had a few opportunities to buy this trainer as I was growing up but at the time I was either too broke or didn’t have my size. Then they vanished. But Nike decided to bring them back in 2017 along with the gold colour. This time around I bought two pairs, I wanted a spare pair in case I don’t get the chance to buy again. I prefer the silver to the gold although I’m thinking About buying the gold too (shhh don’t tell my boyfriend).

Silver bullets
EB231BA0-2288-4846-8CAA-1DADEBBE4A04.jpeg

Another pair of Nike Air Max I loved and still do is the Nike Air Jordan Infrared’s. On the day of their re-release in 2015 my boyfriend took a trip to Nike Town in London and bought me a pair. I was over the moon! Although real sneaker heads will most likely have the 90s version I wasn’t lucky enough, but my 2015 are good enough for me. I also have a baby pair that I bought for my youngest which are still boxed (top image).

Nike Air Jordan Infrareds
B2B533D8-CCA9-4720-8C2B-85DDFC496AB2.jpeg

Reflecting on all the shoes and trainers I’ve owned makes me realise two things 1. I have good taste and 2. I need to organise my wardrobe.

Thank you for reading.

Mumanduniversity

Sort:  

Omg, Shelley’s! That blue shoulder bag that your shoes came in lol. Nice piece. And very nice footwear ; )

Haha yep! Loved those blue bags. Thank you :)

The Comme De Garçon converse and the Nike silver bullets are my favourites! Might get myself some gold bullets if there are any left!

You need to head to eBay for the gold ones. Not cheap! I had the opportunity to buy a pair from office a few months ago - last pair! Biggest regret.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53