My First Attempt at Biohacking

in #lifestyle6 years ago

What's up, Steemians?

As promised in my introductory post, I am writing about whatever I damn well please ;)

Like the title says, I will be talking about my first attempt at biohacking, which is a movement and community dedicated to transhumanism: an idea that with the help of technology humans can be made better.

In this instance of biohacking, I had injected a NFC (near field communication) chip into the web of my hand. (Thank you to the kind folks at cyberise.me) After a little over a year of use, I find it to be little more than a functional "tattoo" that simply sends people to my e-portfolio when scanned by an NFC enabled phone.

Of course there's plenty of other uses, such as being able to lock/unlock your home, start up your car, use it for cardless payment (this can include cryptos from what I've heard), among other uses that I'm not listing now. (This simply cause I'm not trying to push the concept, just sharing all the functions I plan to experiment with)

What was the actual procedure like?

Tbh, after seeing the needle for the first time, I was a little nervous. The image below is the needle post-injection, the NFC chip comes preloaded into it. The needle itself is sterile and sealed in a medical looking package with everything you need for a safe, clean DIY procedure (w/ directions included).

I held onto the package for a couple of days, with my significant other and roommates encouraging that I go to a body artist to do it for me (hahahaha, sure what a great idea). One evening after classes I was drinking some brew with the SO and roommates watching TV or video games (minor detail who cares). The random epiphany came that I could just walk into my bathroom and do the damn thing DIY right now!

I proceeded to get up and move to the restroom grabbing everything I needed without SO or roomies noticing a damn thing. With a nice buzz going, I sanitized my hands, got the giant needle out of the bag and stuck myself the first time.

OW! It's pointy! First sticking failed to get into that subdermal layer like I wanted.
OK, second time! YES, it's in with an oddly satisfying sensation (I'm a weird dude, sorry not sorry). I slowly plunged it in as I was pulling the needle out. Done ;)

I came out of the bathroom. SO and roomies asked what I was doing, so I showed them the hand. SO was pissed for a little, but I thought it was quite the worthwhile experiment. Here's a pic post recovery:

In the present, I'm now contemplating putting a biohacking magnet in my ring finger so that I could sense magnetic fields! That's my personal tale with biohacking my fellow Steemians (for now).

Thank you for reading! feel free to comment with any questions, judgements, etc.

Sort:  

Do you want to live in the Matrix?

yo joey, with bots all over here, Reddit, and Runescape I think we might already be there...

Is that a good thing or a bad thing?

You received 1% of upvote for FREE from @rashley01! We upvote post for FREE to support the New Steemit author. Vote percentage is based on the Quality of the Content.
Follow me to get atleast 1 upvote on your post daily.
You can also Vote @rashley01 as your Steemit Witness

Read/Support my recent post here:
Travel Blog: Touch the Clouds at Mt. Ulap, Benguet!
Photo Contest: Beautiful Ferrari
Untitled-3.gif

woahhh thanks bot :P

Hello dearie..

Welcome to steemit, to interact and get to grow better on steemit, find your niche and be educated on steemit...do well to join us on our Steemschool discord channel using this link https://discord.gg/2F74XX9

Look forward to seeing you there.

lmao thanks, this was sent on my first post yesterday. nice bot, I guess?

😂😂😂😂... No dear... Am human 🤷🤷🤷.. Nice meeting you

Hello and welcome to Steemit! :)

hey welcome to steemit! biohacking is crazy but interestin, good luck with that! If you like epic cinematic photos and videos, follow my blog, it would be an honor to me! :)

Congratulations @mcleanerleaner! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67364.26
ETH 3322.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71