MY NEW FITNESS JOURNEY

in #lifestyle7 years ago

I am so excited and ready to start a new fitness journey. Some of you may know that I sustained a ankle injury back in August. I have not really talked about it a lot but I am ready to share and put it behind me as I start this new journey. Back in August I had a terrible fall and had to have surgery in order to fix my broken ankle. I was on bed rest for 8 weeks and was not able to put weight on my ankle for 12 weeks.

I am a pretty fit and an active person so this was something I struggled with. After all the rest and recovery and another 2 months of physiotherapy I am finally ready to get back into the gym.

I have just started a 12 week program with Crossfit. I did Crossfit before very briefly and found that it really challenged me and that is really when you see results.

Now I am ready to get back into getting fit, in less the 3 months I am going on a sunny vacation and you know what that means? Yup, I need to get into a bikini. YIKES!

One of the first things I did starting this fitness journey is changed some of my lifestyle habits.

This is a perfect time to refocus on my personal health priorities. Here are some changes I made to start and develop positive health habbits.

MAKE THE TIME

Everybody gets 24 hours each day. It’s how we choose to use our time that makes the difference. If you’re a parent, it can be even more of a challenge, but not impossible. Get creative with your time, and make exercise an appointment that can’t be missed. For me I need to work out first thing in the morning, I usually try to go at the same time each day that way it becomes a habit rather then a task.

GET THE "BAD" FOOD OUT OF THE HOUSE

This one may require some cooperation from the other family members at your house. It really helps when you have their full support. This is a great time to seek out the unhealthy foods that made their way into your home over the the holidays and get rid of it. It’s really difficult to resist the temptation of foods that are consistently within arm’s reach. Out of sight, out of mind.

BE PATIENT WITH YOURSELF

The old saying goes, “Rome wasn’t built in a day.” The same holds true for getting back on your road to fitness. Most studies indicate that it takes at least 21 days to form a habit. Give yourself the necessary time to get back on track and take it slowly. I am not able to do everything I was doing before my injury and it is very frustrating every time something comes up that I am not able to do because I do not have full mobility of my ankle yet. I always tell myself at least I am here working out instead of sitting on the couch and getting stronger.

DON'T WORRY ABOUT THE PAST

Concern yourself with the future! Don’t beat yourself up about what happened and all the things you could do before. The most important thing is that you have made the decision to start again. Start eating better and exercising regularly and looking ahead. Your future self will thank you.

PICK A WORKOUT THAT YOU ENJOY

Be sure that you are balancing cardio and resistance training to get the most out of every session. If you like what you’re doing, and it suits your lifestyle, you will be more likely to stick to it. Make sure it challenges you because that is where you will see the best results.

Once you get started, the memories of how good it feels to treat your body right will return, the results will start to show, and you will want to continue.

It has only been 2 weeks since I started I already feel like I have more energy and look forward to my workouts every day.

I hope you guys follow my journey for the next 12 weeks, I will be posting lots of fitness tips and tricks as I get stronger and fitter. Be sure to like my Facebook page and follow me on Instagram as I will be sharing my progress, workouts and healthy meals with you guys.

Wish me luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46