This is how I assuage my coffee-pod guilt

in #lifestyle7 years ago

I love my pod-coffee machine but I'm a little ashamed of it.

I was an instant coffee drinker for many years until I changed jobs and starting working in the city. My daily cups of instant soon became daily Lattes from the coffee shop downstairs. I wanted something similar at home but couldn't afford an expensive homemade version. There weren't many affordable home machines back then.

Aldi released a coffee pod machine. I tried it at my parents-in-law's place and was an instant convert. We've had two of those machines in the past 10 years. I drink about 4 cups a day when I'm home and at least 2 cups on days I'm out.

I can't get moving for the day without my coffee but nowadays I feel guilty about all of the plastic.
Here's how I assuage that guilt.....

Welcome to my kitchen sink! The scraps will go to the chooks. There's my little pile of pods.
20170516_095509.jpg

I use a sharp little knife to cut them open. I've only cut myself once. Of course, I will need a coffee to tide me over as I complete this process.
20170516_100335.jpg

That used to be all I had to do but nowadays there's this extra plastic 'lid' thingy inside that I have to pull out. More plastic! You can imagine that this has added even more guilt to my emotional burden.
()

Now I use a teaspoon to scoop out the coffee grounds and gather it in my little yoghurt bucket.
20170516_100900.jpg

Here's the plastic.
20170516_100906 (1).jpg

The plastic will go in the rubbish and the grounds will go in the compost bin.
I still feel guilty about all of the plastic so I'm thinking of ways to convert the leftover pods into something else.

There you go.
See ya next time!

PS. This is the first time I've posted pictures.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jamdrop! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57400.65
ETH 3108.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42