What are the principles of starting and keeping a new habit?

in #lifestyle6 years ago

main-qimg-d5aa76437ab399074aebe28bac8d9812.jpg

15 minutes rule :

The principles of starting and keeping a new habit is that stick with one activitiy consistently until it becomes your habit and increase your time gradually for that habit.

Generally it is quite difficult to build good habits due to the procrastination, laziness and lack of interest.

Well, I follow a simple rule and strategy to make good habits. Few years ago, I used to hate reading books. So, I applied the 15 minutes rule on myself.

main-qimg-fb33c5b8be1072721cda9aed8c27cead.jpg

I took a self-help book from bookshelf and read only 15 minutes. It was quite difficult to read and concentrate 15 minutes of reading that book because I was not habituated to read.

But I stick with that book like glue for 15 minutes per day for 2 weeks. Then, I allotted the time double (30 minutes) for reading books of next two weeks.

After that, I used to spend 50 minutes-1 hour time for the pursuit of knowledge. Later, I gradually increased my time consistently to read. Now it becomes my habit to read books hours and hours at every day.

15 minutes rule was worked for me tremendously. Now I use this simple but powerful strategy to pursue another good habits.

But there is one condition to apply this technique. Don't spend more than 15 minutes time per day to build good habits for the initial first two weeks.

We do a mistake all the time. Primarily We start work enthusiastically and work 3–4 hours to build up any good habits. But after 2–3 days, we feel monotonous and leave the work.

Well, start from small but do it regularly to grow your interest, then make it large. Slow and steady person always wins the race of life. It is also true for building good habits.

So, don't let the grass grow under your feet. Be active, build amazing habits which will lead you towards success.

main-qimg-1546e2f70fb4e3cefd9a6bbcac12af50.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @imrankhanbd! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47