The greatest addiction of this era

in #lifestyle6 years ago

image

source

When we talk of addictions, most people's minds jump straight to drugs which is not always the case like the case of this post. Addictions could be anything or even anyone or place you cannot live without. In this modern era of today, the greatest which so many people are so hooked into and yet don't realize it is Social media addiction.

Social media has taken the place of people in life so much that it is so difficult to have good quality time with family and all those around you. Just the other day, my elder sister and i were seated in the living room but barely exchanged words because we were all so focuswd on our phones. She was busy doing her owb stuff and i was also busy on my own stuff. Our phones, tablets, laptops and gadjets have become as important as the very air we breathe. They are even more like a part of our body because we carry them always at anytime and everywhere.

We prefer to rather chat and discuss with others online than to sit and chat with those right infront of us. Most people don't even realize how they have become attached to these things and so it keeps getting worse and worse. I myself did not realize how attached i was to social media until a classmate of mine was uninstalling all her social media accounts. I asked her why and she said it was like a punishment to her and that she was tired of it. She said a day could not pass without her logging in to social media pages. She said it was like she was addicted to it and could not stay away from it even for a day.I went back home thinking about it, i told myself it was not that bad for me but no matter how i tried, i realized it was because i logged in nearly everyday. So i decided to take the ultimate test.

Stay away from all social media platforms for 3days.

I took a test and decided to stay away from al social media platforms for just 3 days. At first i thought to myself that it will not be a difficult thing at all but i was soon to discover that it was not true. I barely escaped the first day and on the second day, i just could not hold on. During that time when i looked at my phone, the only thing i thought of was to social media account. It seemed at that moment to me like that was the primary use of my phone. Then i realized i too had gotten too attached to social media.

image

source

In thesame way, many people are now addicted to social media without even realizing that they are which is a serious issue because it can affect your relationship with other people around you, other commitments, time management etc. We really need to be careful on how we use social media and the amount of time we spend on social media or you risk falling into tje snares of social media addiction.
Most especially on a platform like steemit where one has to always post and engage with others and be regular to ensure your success as a minnow can really be a risk factor for addiction. Many people already are so, we need to get to solve this issue before it gets to our lives for sure.

People barely eat, sleep, rest or devote time to others because of social media. Our phones and gadjets have become the most important thing we can't do without. Please my dear friends we really need to keep our phones and gadjets in their rightful pace and where they belong or they might just cause havoc silently and slowly. I emphasize again, especially on steemit.
From what i have noted, many people are already so attached to steemit that we might implore the help of rehab institutions for aid on a serious note.

The best way to know of your social media addiction statues is to take my test. It might help you for sure. You might laugh but i did too and was surprised at the outcome. How difficult it was dor me to stay away from my phone and social media. The challenge is easy.

Can you stay for a week without logging into any social media platform especially steemit?

Sort:  

Steemit is the only one I'm on, and the only one I've ever been one. I somewhat regularly go a couple days. And a couple months back I went about a week. I find it nice to take a break. And my friends I have been fortunate enough to find here understand that...right friend? 😀
Great post by the way, and yes I agree, a large portion of people are addicted to social media. IT'S DESIGNED TO BE THAT WAY DEAR BROTHER. Look into that one if you haven't ever, and are interested in some good reading. Thanks for the post friend.

I will surely look into it and i think i will like to use social media and not the other way round hahah.
Thanks my friend

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by hermannsol from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63834.78
ETH 2627.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78