You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Story of Money: Work, Wage Labor, and What makes us us?

in #lifestyle7 years ago (edited)

I really like your post, but it sorta conflicts with the way I've always generally seen things. Comparing to medieval standards working 8 hours per day (compared to 16), having 3 meals a day (compared to 1 bread), having a car, a house, the freedom to visit other countries... I mean it seems like these luxuries were reserved for the richest 1% in medieval times, the rulers, but never the common folk.

In modern age the common folk are better off, or at least I've always thought so.

I will have to rethink...

Sort:  

Medieval periods of European history seem pretty grim at times. It's true...and also we're not really truly sure what it was like for many people. I think people definitely have a lot of privileges today, and also, maybe we don't have it all figured out either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60