Pawns and Players

in #lifestyle7 years ago

I work eight to five every single day,  sometimes weekends too, I hardly have time for my family. Yet the salary can't take me two weeks before i start looking out of the window for the next pay day. year in year out i find myself in this position.

I see people that have worked for twenty years in this same field and occupying a higher position than mine yet asking me for some soft loans when the months barely begins. yet no one complains. they work joyfully as if all is well. 

After working for two years is when i realized that I've been a pawn in the game of things. My father was this way, or he is still this way, at 60+ still working...I thought my life would be different from his. but with what i am seeing i am heading towards that same direction if i don't have a re-think.

I see on the other side of the game some group of persons that don't put in the physical effort that we do but they leave comfortably, have time to travel with their families for vacation. all they do at work is to send mails and attend meetings. this other group too are also pawns in the overall system. there are some other that all they do is to check their account balance and travel around the world.

while we soil our hands with diesel and engine oil just to make ends meet. when you are at the bottom of the food chain..you cannot see the big picture. your mind is clustered around equipment failure while the other group all they see is revenue. there are vast opportunities out there, if only we lift our eyes and look beyond our comfort zone.

One thing for sure is that you can still be a player at the bottom of the food chain and you can still be a pawn at the top. it all depends on how you see the over-all game. I choose work my self to the top of the food chain by looking out beyond my environment, time-limit, skills and education. I choose to leverage on other people's efforts and time to get to the other side where i can be a player in the game of things.

It all starts in the mind and how we look at things. when our eyes are fixed on the big picture, gossips, distractions,

temporary failures don't mean a thing to us.

Those that look at the sun don't see shadows......

Emmarukee

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit.
Following n upvoted! Hope you Follow too .. @mohit
Have a good day :)

Thanks @mohit...i am following you now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49