10 things to do before you are heading to work (as a Dj)

in #lifestyle6 years ago

16832287_660512114120636_2543976796179203414_n.jpg

  1. Choose the right device to play.
    So as a Dj you have different ways to play music, and you have to choose in advance which one you will use later. It could be Software, Cds, USB keys, Vinyls etc. Choose wisely because it will affect your Djing style later.

  2. Choose that special song that will make people dance.
    Your « make-people-dance » song won’t always be the same. It could work in that club but not in another one. So you have to be careful about this one. Also don’t forget that there is always that « in » song that everybody knows and that will make everybody sing and dance.

  3. Work on your playlists.
    Like you really have to work on each and every songs. Add some cue points, loop and out loop…Why is that? Because it is possible that you aren’t ready or don’t have enough time to do a transition so it’s better to be prepared. I usually spend around 2 hours every two days and work all over again on my playlists.

  4. Always check all your materials before heading to work.
    It means that I have to check if I have my USB keys, hard drive, USB cable, jack adapter, laptop charger, ethernet cable, router, USB hub and lots of cables. I like to be over-prepared than not, you never know.

  5. Check your outfits.
    I know that it kind of sounds ridiculous, but I think that a Dj style should also be prepared. We are representing a lifestyle, a dream and I believe that the outfit is also important to deliver a message to the public.
    27657454_833561520149027_4106613680022043339_n.jpg

  6. (Special ASIA). Buy some Ear-plugs.
    There is no regulation on volume in the clubs in Asia, so the volume tend to be crazily loud even for a Dj. So having a ear-plugs is a must as a Dj in Asia otherwise you will end up no hearing anything after 2 hours of work.

  7. Check the devices at the club.
    Because every clubs are different, it is important to check in advance what kind of gigs the club is using. I like to go check the clubs before it opens. Like this you can check all the devices and if it’s missing something you can always ask the people there to quickly go buy it for you. I told you…I like to be over-prepared.

  8. Sound Check.
    It’s better to always check the sound in the clubs. Trust me, you don’t want to be in the red the whole night and end up being saturated the whole night. The sound check isn’t an option but a must to do.

  9. Stress-less.
    The first time that I played for a club, I got a stage fright. I had no idea on how to evacuate it but after a few times playing at a club, I started to find a way to evacuate the stress. Now I’m putting on my headphones and I just listen to very chill and relax music. Everybody has different ways to do it…try different things and you will find the ONE. But you know…after 12 years of Djing I still get that stage fright.

  10. ENJOY
    One way to make people enjoy the night, is to enjoy it yourself first.
    IMG_6356.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43