Goth and Me

in #lifestyle6 years ago (edited)

The following is not part of any of my stories. Instead this is a post from my main blog on WordPress. This is to just give you all a preview of my blog and to celebrate World Goth Day. If you visit my blog, you will see this post. There are a few variations from this version.

Now, onto the post:

Since today, May 22, is World Goth Day, I thought I'd share some pictures and my past with the Gothic Subculture.

img_1990.jpg

I would have to say this all started around the age of 14. I started finding what bands I liked and finding my own fashion sense. My freshman year of high school was spent at a small private school. One day I wore a black skirt and shirt with some Mary Jane styled shoes. A girl asked if I was goth or going goth (this was about 8 years ago, so my memory is a bit rusty). I told her no, and she suggested I should 'cause the look suited me. From there I looked into the subculture. Being from a small town, my only experiences with the gothic subculture were from movies, so of course I researched. My research didn't just tell me about the subculture and widen my music tastes, it also showed me a place I could find others like me, Vampire Freaks.

img_1995.jpg

While joining in on all the social media fun Vampire Freaks use to be, I met others with similar tastes. I grew to understand myself more. While I am still a part of the site, I am no longer an active member.

img_1996.jpg

Today, you see me in black on a regular basis due to work. Half the time I am makeup-less due to being lazy, and the other half my makeup is toned down. I do enjoy getting dressed up on my days off and going into town, but it doesn't happen often. While the gothic subculture is still a part of who I am, it is not currently as big a part of my life as I wished it was. However, one day that will change.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97