You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A BYPRODUCT OF OUR CHOSEN LIFESTYLE

do you also have to slaughter the animals yourself or do you use an abattoir? growing up, my father was a butcher and we had our own butchers shop, so i appreciate the sentiment of this post. i never buy meat from the big chain stores, i prefer local butchers shops. its not quite rearing my own food, but a step closer. one day I hope to be blessed enough to own or rent a smallholding so I too can raise and grow my own food 😊

Sort:  

I'm learning to do it myself, so far with chickens, rabbits, and deer. Plus, I did use a reciprocating saw to make porkchops with some of my neighbors.

There are bandsaws that make butchering much quicker and easier. I had one, and they're not even that expensive. Have a search, but I found a pretty good source for a lot of things at Harbor Freight, and the like.

Edit: also, try freezing the meat first. it's easier to cut a solid than wet meat.

A meat bandsaw is just a bandsaw made out of stainless steel so it can be washed down.
Having one for yourself I would consider a waste of space. Unless you start processing more than just for your family.

Also, ... finding a better blade for your sawzall may be the way to go. The correct blade would look like a bumpy serrated (not toothed) blade. Maybe try a electric carving blade in your saw.

Cool, I'll look into it. I was just helping the neighbors and learning a few things, but I'm always down for learning more and improving!

Haha ! I love pork chops !! My last post was on BBQ pork chops ! Yummy , love your proof of pork chop pic !! Haha !👍👍👍🐖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68152.98
ETH 3536.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86