Roots

in #lifestyle6 years ago

photographs-1209751_640.jpg

For mother’s day, my mother got me a DNA test from Ancestry.com. It has been something that I have wanted to do for a long time. We know a good portion of her family history as we have many people that have documented a lot of it. But my biological father’s side has been kinda a mystery.

I am 60% Great Britain, 17% Europe East, 8% Iberian Peninsula, 8% Scandinavia, and 5% Ireland/Scotland/Wales. Great Britain was a given based off of what I already know about. The one that I had not know about was the Iberian Peninsula. This was something that comes from my father's side of the family.

Having this test done got me to start thinking of my own children and what we are leaving them. The roots and things that we teach them hoping to create rituals for them. Things that they might pass on to their own children. What are the things that I have passed onto my children already and what do I want to do moving forward? Both of my kids are rock hounds just like my mother and myself. Wherever we travel to we always bring a rock back from that place even if it’s just something we find on the ground. Music is something that we all love and share with each other. This was again something that I did with my parents that we would get into a song we would sing along and dance. My husband’s father loved the 4th of July so we barbecue and have fireworks. Christmas, as I have said, is a major event in our family. And every Halloween we sit down and talk about the family that has passed and tell stories of them. So that our children know about the people before them.

Have you ever thought of or have done a DNA test? Do you want to know about where your ancestors are from? Do you have a family tree? Is there anything that you do that was something that you learned or plan to teach your children about? Where do your roots come from? I’d love to know and talk about it.

May your stars shine brightly on you.

(Image is from https://pixabay.com/)

Sort:  

How cool to find out! It's funny because Brian and I were talking about this on one of our podcasts recently. I wouldn't mind finding out about my ancestry because I don't know much about it.

It's really nice and it tells you if you have any matches that have already taken the DNA test as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50