The Best Beginner`s Travel Camera(great for Steemit users!)

in #lifestyle7 years ago

img_3031.jpg

Dear Steemians, I represent you my original blog post that can be helpful for anyone who likes photography, or the ones that wants to get more into it. If your stories here on Steemit are often posted in "photography" section, but your photos are taken from your phone and you want to increase the quality of your photos in future, these tips that I made for you may be helpful. Enjoy :)

Bigger isn’t always better—that’s the concept giving traditional DSLR cameras a run for their money.

If you’re looking to upgrade from your iPhone camera, but don’t know anything about photography, you’re in the right place. Look no further than the Sony Mirrorless cameras. It’s compact size and wi-fi capabilities makes it perfect for the digital vagabond diving into the sea of photography.

About a year and a half ago, I was also starting from square one. Before studying abroad I decided I wanted to get a little more serious about my photography and invest in a nice camera. I knew nothing about ISO, aperture, or the rule of thirds, but I knew that I wanted to learn. I wanted to find something that took quality pictures, yet was not a complex machine that would inevitably end up collecting dust on a shelf.

flora-fauna.jpg

That’s why I ended up going with Sony a6000 Mirrorless camera. It’s part of an entire mirrorless movement, replacing the traditional mirror processing system of regular DSLRs. Because of this, the camera is much more compact, yet it has all the capabilities of any DSLR, including 24.3 megapixels, a wide ISO range, quick autofocus, and a versatile interchangeable lens system. Unlike most cameras, it has Wi-Fi capabilities, which allow you to send any photos to your phone, AKA easier to Instagram!

If you don’t know anything about the settings and capabilities described above, that’s totally okay, and it basically comes down to some simple techniques. In order to learn these though, you need to practice as much as possible on something that is suitable for your skill level.

The biggest mistake people make is thinking that a bigger camera means you’ll get better pictures; it’s simply just not true. You want a bigger image sensor, but you don’t necessarily need a bigger camera body. I have so many friends that don’t have a clue how to work large, complex camera. As a result, they don’t end up being happy with the quality of their pictures. People often buy huge cameras that are too big traveling around all day, let alone bringing on a trip. Thus, they don’t practice as much.

dsc05608.jpg

dsc09603.jpg

dsc04744.jpg

In contrast, the a6000 is simple to use, and allows you to grow with it. I started out just shooting in auto mode, then playing around with manual, and aperture. Then after learning a bit more, I invested in a Sony E 50mm f/1.8 OSS lens, which allowed me take crisp close shots with a wider aperture range. I am now thinking of getting a wide-angle lens as well.

I know that sometimes people want to find the cheapest option, and that’s exactly what I did the first, second and third time I bought a camera and I wasn’t happy. I tried getting the cheaper mirrorless Sony a5100, which I ended up bringing back after a week because I wasn’t happy with the quality of my pictures. The upgrade to the a6000 made a world of a difference. You have to remember that if you’re serious about getting into photography, you want something that you’ll still use for at least 2 or 3 years. Yes, Sony a6000 isn’t the cheapest option, but I think you’ll find it’s worth it.

By no means am I any type of expert on photography or cameras. I am very much a beginner myself. But I do consider myself an expert beginner, and that’s why I can’t recommend this camera enough for others getting started as well. You’ll grow with it, and it will become your favorite accessory. After using DSLRs for years, many professional photographers are making the upgrade to more complex forms of mirrorless as well. I can’t blame them.

dsc01618.jpg

dsc08503.jpg

dsc08803.jpg

dsc09369.jpg

If you’re looking to try a mirrorless out for yourself, I recommend going to a National Camera Exchange, or finding a store that specializes in cameras in your area. I found looking for cameras at BestBuy to be overwhelming and unhelpful. National Camera Exchange offers free camera and video classes with most camera purchases and they’ll tell you everything you need to get started!

Up vote if you like it or found it useful :)

And for more stories, don`t forget to stop by on my web page https://mindfulmermaid.com/ :)

Sort:  

Many thanks dear friend @alexcote for these tips and beautiful pictures,
Greetings to all your loved ones and have a beautiful day

Thanks so much my dear friend :)

Great post and photos Alex ,the Sony A6000 mirrorless is a great suggestion,i have a Canon 5d mark 2 thats a beast to carry around and definitely not for traveling the world with ,i look forward to making some steem soon and buying one ,Regards Graham

I am glad if I could help you with advice. Wish you all the best here and that you afford yourself a new camera! You have a gift, and that gift has to be used! :)

Great post! I'm looking to buy a camera, so thanks for the detailed post about this model.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34