8 EASY WAYS TO RELAX AFTER A LONG DAY AT WORKsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #lifestyle4 years ago

IMG_20200715_144029.JPG

I don’t know about you guys, but lately, I’ve been coming home from work EXHAUSTED!

Now in the past, I used to just suck it up. I used to tell myself that this was my life and that I had to keep going.

But over the past few months, I’ve realized that if I want to continue to kick-ass at work, I need to make my health and well-being a priority. I need to take time to relax when I get home, time to unwind and de-stress.

Gosh, life was so much simpler when we were younger! After school, I’d go to abuela’s house and relaxing is all I had to do! We’d stop at the bakery, get some pasteliots, watch I Love Lucy, and that’s all I needed to be a happy camper.

But as an adult, it’s been a little harder. It’s been hard to relax after work. I’d get home and think about the five thousand different blog posts I had to write or projects I wanted to get started on, so relaxing wasn’t something I was totally comfortable with. So if that sounds familiar and you need some help in the relaxing department, here ten easy ways to relax after a long day at work.

CHANGE INTO COMFY CLOTHES

There’s nothing better than getting home from work and changing into a comfy t-shirt or my favorite pair of sweatpants. Changing out of my work clothes tells my brain that it’s time to relax, and that I can enjoy a few hours to myself, without the stress of work weighing on my shoulders.

UNPLUG FOR A COUPLE HOURS

I’m on my phone all day long, and if I’m not on my phone, I’m on my computer. I’m answering e-mails, returning voicemails, processing paperwork, so when I get home, my brain needs a break. I’m legit sick of my phone by the time I get home, so I’ve been making an effort to unplug for a couple of hours. I’ll leave my phone in my bedroom for an hour or two and I’ll go out to the family room to do anything other than check my social media. This has helped my sanity tremendously.

MEDITATE/DO YOGA

After a long day at work, it’s so great to spend a few minutes meditating. Now I’m no meditating expert, but I do make it a habit of sitting on the floor for five minutes, doing nothing. I just focus on my breathing and I give thanks for the day I just had. But if you’re not a fan of meditating or you’re just not ready for it, do some yoga or at the very least, stretch. Chances are, you’ve been sitting on your butt all day long, and your body needs some stretching. Trust me, you’ll feel SO MUCH BETTER!

READ A BOOK

ways-to-relax-768x512.jpg

One of my favorite things to do after a long day at work is to curl up on the couch with a good book. I’m notorious for buying 15 books at a time and never getting around to reading them, so I’m trying to get through a whole bunch of new books I have sitting on my desk. This is definitely a good way to get your mind off work and to focus on something you really enjoy.

Some of the books I’m currently reading:

Big Magic
Crush It: Why Now Is The Time To Cash In On Your Passion
Leave Your Mark
You Are A Badass
Breathe Mama Breathe

LISTEN TO RELAXING MUSIC

ways-to-relax-1-768x512.jpg

Am I the only nerd over here who loves listening to relaxing music? Well if I am, that’s totally fine because I’m telling you, it helps me unwind SO MUCH! I’ll open up Spotify on my iPad and I’ll type in something like “Relaxation Music” or “Spa Music” and just like that, I really do feel like I’m at a spa or in the middle of a forest or at the beach somewhere totally stress-free. LOVE THIS!

USE ESSENTIAL OILS

I used to give my sister so much crap for using essential oils. I thought it was a total scam. But after coming home with head-splitting migraines every day, I decided to give them a shot, and now I know why she loves them so much. Right before bed I turn on my diffuser that I fill with lavender essential oil and not only does it relax me, but it helps me fall asleep in no-time.

LIGHT CANDLES

ways-to-relax-3-e1469412435209-768x483.jpg

After a long day at work, I love running over to the kitchen and lighting candles. It really sets the tone for the evening and it helps me remember to take it easy. It tells my brain that the rest of the night is for unwinding and I don’t know why, but it seems to have helped with my anxiety a bit.

DO SOMETHING CRAFTY

ways-to-relax-4-768x538.jpg

I’ve never been a crafty person, but I’ve started giving crafts a shot because they help me focus on something other than work. I’ve started watercoloring and dude- it’s so soothing! So go grab yourself an adult coloring book or make yourself a sugar-scrub. Just find something crafty that you like and try doing it at least once a week.

Any other suggestions? How do you relax after a long day? Let me know in the comments!

Hope you all enjoyed the post🙂...
Stay safe stay connected.

Sort:  

I agree, relaxing at home where you are most comfortable with is the best thing for me. The only thing that can improve this is getting Best CBD products from Aifory.com, who are one of the most trusted companies that sells CBD oil. Their stuff improves my relaxation process massively, so I'm grateful to have found them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59401.87
ETH 2615.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40