Roses

in #lifestyle7 years ago (edited)

"You're a rose, be with someone who isn't afraid of your thorns"
-R.h. Sin
I have this thing for roses. How they look, smell, and what they symbolize. They can mean many different things to different people. The quote above is one of my favorites! It so happens to use roses and thorns as symbolic of the dark parts of ourselves. I've had a lot of time to reflect on this. Can we be with someone who doesn't tolerate, accept, or even love the worst parts of us? I believe the answer is no. In order for someone to truly love us, they must see us for who we are, not what they want us to be. The good and bad, the happy and sad, the joy and frustration. We should never hide our ghosts from the ones we love most, because if we do then we are selling ourselves out. There's nothing better in the world than to be truly loved by someone, even with all of our faults. I've come to understand this in my own relationships. It's rewarding to show someone the so called "dark" parts of our being, and to know that they are still there. Be with someone who isn't afraid of your thorns!

Hope you enjoyed this little piece of my brain and photograph I took with a dear friend.

-Addie

_DSC0764.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @addiesworld! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is beautiful. I just followed since this is right down my alley. You may also like my work.

Thank you. I am now following along with your work as well! You have some amazing content.

Thank you! This is one of my favorite photographs I've been able to capture.

Did you do any editing to this, or lens filter on the camera?

I did do editing with this image in lightroom. Some adjustments to the contrast, colors, and tone curve. Not too extensive of work, but it goes a long way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60412.47
ETH 2375.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62