Hi to the world I do exist!

in #lifestory7 years ago (edited)

I am a middle aged man pretty typical wife 2 kids and a dog nothing special. The interesting stuff comes in the details 25 years ago I was a very athletic and bright young man ready to take on the world. I had a new wife and son the sky was the limit I was trying to decide the best career for me as my job of funeral director and coroner pickup man was not my cup of tea. Although it was very interesting and I have many good stories to tell around the camp fire. In the end, I realized that I have always loved building and creating I decided to become a welder/fabricator. This was great I went to college to learn how to weld and get all my need structural and pressure tickets . Next was to find a job and I lived on an Island so I new I would need to search elsewhere. I strapped my tool box, helmet, and tent to my motorcycle and hit the road with resumes and a good dose of adventure in my spirit.
It took me 3 weeks of solid driving, applying , and job tests to find a job that fit the bill, it was a great time in my life. I had family counting on me I had to provide for them and it was all working perfect to my plan. My job was half shop building and half iron working in the field setting up these huge metal beasts of structures we created. My life was climbing and clinging onto the side of these 100 foot buildings , safety ropes were in the truck but it seemed that they tended to slow you down so much that the guys that used them were so un productive that they were always gone the next week. I saw the writting on the wall and enough said. I was very fast and able to climb . weld, and wrench with the best of them. We spent a month at a time in the field by this time I had send for the wife and little one and all of our stuff. I had already rented an appartment for them to move into before I got back from camp. I was so happy the first time I saw them tears welled up in my eyes. I felt complete again. For the first time I had a nice big check in hand and we all went shopping for everything we wanted it was great. My little guy did have some problems recognising me but it was all good in a few minutes but it did feel like hours at the time.

Life in a new place was easy for me but it didn't go so well for Cat my wife it turned out that if you weren't the same religion as everybody else you didn't fit in so well but the only other thing that everybody elses other halfs did was shop and shop some more. I soon found out where everybodies big checks when. It was in the mall or invested into your trucks. I have never seen so many different and fancy trucks before.

This is the first episode of my life story Life takes a very different turn in the next one

Sort:  

Congratulations @kneedragon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @kneedragon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @kneedragon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61238.65
ETH 2634.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46