You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travels With Cleo-The Gunner Chronicle Continues

in #lifestory6 years ago

This was such a sad time for the USA and I can't imagine how it must have felt being in it and waiting to be called up. I always wonder, if Kennedy had lived would we have never gone to Vietnam?

This was sort of the last time that they really telvised war as well, today the US is in so many little wars and conflicts but they never televise the horrors of it and the scary state for our men and women in uniform.

I am glad you made it out alive, that too must have it's own set of feelings.

Sort:  

Kennedy had sent some 'advisors' in, but a very limited number. He was NOT intimidated by the French or the Chiefs of Staff. I would think that would have been completely different.

It was just a chaotic time to be a young male. Pete Seger gave us 'the fixen to die rag' and our parents had fought WWII. It was a chaotic time to be a young female because some of them liked us. It was a chaotic time to be a parent because everything was changing and they all knew someone that had died in WWII.

Which is one of the reason I have hope in our current stirred up mess. We got through it before, I have every reason to expect we can do so again.

I have actually been through counseling for survivor guilt. The war and a couple more personal times in my life. I'll get to them if I live long enough.

Thanks Donna!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32