Intermission part 2

in #lifeofratticus6 years ago

Following on from my previous post, I'm currently in Adelaide. I arrived mid morning on Saturday to the news that while mum wasn't in renal failure as previously diagnosed, she wasn't in a good way at all.

Saturday and Sunday were mostly spent in the hospital, with the three of us kids being in there for over 8 hours each. For the majority of that time, mum didn't know who she was, and was mostly non-responsive, and when she did respond to questions, sometimes it was correct, and other times, it was an answer to a different question.

By Monday she was starting to be a bit better, though there was still significant disconnect between the brain and everything else and becoming clearer that whatever the event was, it was neurological in nature, be it infection or other. CT scan on Monday followed by an MRI on Thursday have shown nothing new, which is a good thing, although it hasn't given us a reason for this sudden turn.

More recently I've been happy to see that she is sitting out of bed and has been showered. Nothing is done on her own still, and a meeting with the oncologist and family members tomorrow is likely to be about discussing continuing care options.

There have been many pluses from the recovering health, not least of which is that my mum is now likely to meet my daughter, who has been having fun without me this last week, getting to the pool for the first time and enjoying some time in the water with my partner.

Maisie first visit to pool.jpg
This is a much nicer image than any of my mum over the last week.

Hopefully in the next week I'll be able to get back to some kind of normal post as well, but we're still doing daily hospital visits and I've got to get the house ready for my partner, daughter and partner's parents that are arriving on Thursday, so I'm not really sure when I'll get time to get back to anything relating to normal, regardless of how I feel.


TA Footer Slim.png

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

This post has received a 20.00 % upvote from @sharkbank thanks to: @ubasti.

Awww that great she gets to go swimming.

Sorry to hear you are still struggling with some stuff in life. I hope everything works out soon.

It really is good, and we're looking for somewhere here for her to go while they're over.

Life stuff isn't going to get better, but it's shortly going to be changing again for a different status. I expect to be back to regular in a couple of weeks or so though, with some posts between now and then to keep things rolling along maybe

You have quite a handful of work to do.
So nice to see the baby learning to swim in a way.
Hope things are getting much better with more cheerful vibes.

Naww did Mousey enjoy her swim?

Post if you can post/it's a good distraction from other stuff going on. Otherwise you have a lot going on right now and you can get back to it when you have a normal to get back to.

She really did enjoy it. She loves bath time, so not too surprising. Would have loved to have been there for it, but photos and video are pretty reasonable substitutes.

Yeah, I won't stress if I don't get to post for a bit. Will have to see what happens once I'm running a house of 5 as well as visiting my mum. It might just be 2 weeks of content gathering...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84