Einstein Socks And The Path To Enlightenment

in #lifehacks8 years ago

Einstein headshot RZ.jpg

Ever since I heard the name Albert Einstein, and learned of his works, I have been a great admirer. It has always fascinated me that someone could work out the fundamental laws of the universe with no more than a pen, some paper and his immense mind.

Einstein came up with theories that took decades of technological advancement to prove. His prediction that time moves more slowly for a person travelling in relation to another person standing still, was not yet completely proven, until two atomic clocks were measured. One while it was on the ground, and the other while it was flying on concord.

While finalising his Special Theory of Relativity, Einstein embarked on a quest to eliminate all trivial decisions out of his life. He felt that he had a finite amount of brain power, and that it was best used to discover the fundamental laws of nature.

Focus

Mileva Einstein Maric RZ.jpg

CONDITIONS

You will make sure:

  • that my clothes and laundry are kept in good order;

  • that I will receive my three meals regularly in my room;

  • that my bedroom and study are kept neat, and especially that my desk is left for my use only.

  • You will renounce all personal relations with me insofar as they are not completely necessary for social reasons.

  • Specifically, You will forego:

  • my sitting at home with you;

  • my going out or travelling with you.

  • You will obey the following points in your relations with me:

  • you will not expect any intimacy from me, nor will you reproach me in any way;

  • you will stop talking to me if I request it;

  • you will leave my bedroom or study immediately without protest if I request it.

  • You will undertake not to belittle me in front of our children, either through words or behavior.

These are the rather draconian terms and conditions that Albert Einstein set out in a contract to his first wife. The marriage was clearly doomed, however they both thought they would give it a go for the children's sake. As you'd expect the marriage ended a couple of months later, when Mileva Einstein-Maric; a brilliant physicist in her own right, left the marital home.

However we can begin to get a glimpse into Einstein's thinking regarding the use of his brain power, particularly the penultimate rule and the one just before it.

  • you will stop talking to me if I request it;

  • you will leave my bedroom or study immediately without protest if I request it.

Essentially, trying to work out how light is effected by gravity, and then trying to express that in mathematical terms, must be time consuming stuff, and Einstein started working out ways he could maximise the time he had.

Meaningless Fashion

Einstein playing violin RZ.jpg

If you look back far enough, you see pictures of Albert Einstein in a variety of different suits, some light, some dark, different cuts and so on.

However, after around 1914-15, he was only pictured in the suit that goes to make up the image that most people have of Einstein. This is because he realised that the mundanity of choosing what to wear each day, was eating up valuable thinking time.

He reasoned that if he bought several sets of clothes of exactly the same colour and design, he freed up some extra processing power. By eliminating choice, he elevated his thinking; something which I gave little thought to apart from the fact that I found it fascinating, and amusing, that is, until recently.

My Socks And The Path To Enlightenment

Sock-Drawer-messy-socks RZ.jpg

Like Colonel Kurtz, in Apocalypse Now, it hit me like a diamond bullet in the centre of the forehead. Leaving nothing but clarity.

As I sat in my bedroom, angrily ripping off yet another holey sock, I realised two things. One, I hadn't bought a pair of socks in at least 5 years, and two, I wasted a lot of time every day trying to find two socks of similar thickness (forget colour), without holes in them.

I seemed to have a huge amount of socks without having one complete, non-ripped pair. At this point, you may think to yourself; "But Cryptogee, you said you haven't bought a pair of socks in 5 years; surely this situation can't have just arisen?" And you'd be right, I would say that I have been in this similar sock situation for at least 3 of those 5 years, possibly more. Especially when you take into consideration that I said 5 years because I'm mildly embarrassed that it's in fact more.

The reason for my sudden epiphany was I was trying to think of something; a Steemit article no less that I had been writing in my head for a couple of days, and I was finally ready to let it come pouring forth onto the screen.

However my growing sock-rage was preventing me from doing that, and all I wanted to do was throw every last pair away.

So I did!

Not before finding two socks of similar thickness with only holes in the heels, as opposed to the toes; this is what I had been reduced to.

Sockvana

quote-when-his-wife-asked-him-to-change-clothes-.jpg

My nirvana, or rather sockvana, came when I decided to throw away any socks that either weren't pairs or had any holes in. Around 99.8%, let's call it all of them.

I then marched myself of to Primark (a cheap UK department store), and sought out the sock section. I found packs of five black socks; perfect!

Each pack of five was just £2, so I bought ten packs; I later went to a sports store and bought a further 20 pairs of trainer socks to use at the gym; all the same of colour of course. The effect on my life cannot be exaggerated; whilst my tongue is nestling in the never regions of my cheek. I can tell you with total honesty, that I genuinely feel closer to Einstein now.

No longer does my dread grow as I walk from bathroom to bedroom, knowing that the moment will come when I have to choose my socks.

Now, I have a sprightly step, as I sit down in front of my sock drawer, pull it open, and put two socks of the same thickness and colour onto my feet. If one does develop a hole, I throw it away, knowing that no matter how many times I do that, I will not upset the balance of my sock drawer.

"But wait Cryptogee! That will mean that you have an odd number of socks in your drawer, so it does through it out of balance you maniac!"

Yes, yes, but I don't have to wear them all at once, so it doesn't matter if their numbers are odd or even, as long as they're all the same thickness, colour and have no holes in them; my work here is done!

Aftermath

So that's it, done, end of story.... weellll....

I am seriously contemplating doing the same thing with the rest of my wardrobe, the fact is, I'm like most guys; in that I hate shopping for clothes, or in fact anything that causes me to walk around a too hot shop looking at stuff I mainly hate.

So I'm thinking of having a few "going out" clothes, and then just getting like 20 t-shirts, shirts, jumpers, jeans that are exactly the same.

I mean; why not? Who cares right?

DISCUS!

Cryptogee

,

Sort:  

Wow a three year sock situation, that's mighty impressive, all that sifting and inspecting can take its toll.

Like the formation of an ice glacier, my sock decision was a long drawn out process :-)

Cg

Excellent post. I found this via Steemit chat. Upvoted and followed!

Nice one thanks; glad you enjoyed :-)

Cg

Holes or no holes in socks, I enjoyed your article. Our lives would be much easier without all the useless decisions. Yet, how many can get passed these moments and wear only one style?

This is why I am holding back on the rest of the wardrobe; I don't mind only one style of socks, as I view them as a purely functional item. However I am seriously considering buying 5 pairs of jeans I like and about 20 white T-shirts and a couple of jumpers thin and thick also of the same colour.

Even as I type this, I think about how much easier my life would be; I would still have "special occasion" clothes of course :-)

Cg

You could be onto something

source

Haha, I was going to mention in the article but I forgot and you've just reminded me. That wearing the same clothes everyday, might make me feel like a cartoon character!

Cg

About 2 years ago, I replaced all of my socks with grey wool socks with a single red stripe at the top. When I get a hole in one sock, I throw it out, knowing that soon another hole will appear in a sock and I'll be back to even numbers again. I don't know if I feel any closer to Einstein though.

The specific socks are inexpensive and they do a good job of wicking moisture away from my feet so they never get cold.

Sock Example

They do look funny at the gym or in a suit. ;-)

Exactly; my black ones looked funny at the gym; so I went and got the identical gym socks :-)

Cg

I learned to do this with a house full of teenagers, a farm, and a husband that work rotation shifts. Everything has a place and don't have too many things! Simply everything, learn to say no to friends and family, buy in bulk, I hate shopping it is a big waste of time. Please don't talk to me when I am working is well known rule in our house!

Ah you are one of those multitasking, kickassing, mothers I have always so admired. I would love you to come and do your thang on our household, I think it's the farm upbringing as well; something very practical and can do about farmers :-)

Cg

It's one thing at a time magic! I may look like I'm multitasking but I am defiantly not! It's all about streamlining processes.

Streamlining processes, I can dig that; I'm trying to achieve some kind of process streamlining Utopia. :-)

Cg

I hadn't heard these rules Einstein tried to put in place with his wife, they are so funny and collectively comprise an outrageous request, yet on a certain level I do understand. I'm one of those people who has had to make the decision NOT to fly into the rage I feel arise when I'm disrupted. ALthough I know it's unreasonable to ask not to ever be disrupted, I do want it sometimes!!

I know what you mean; I connected with those rules on a similar level; they're outrageous, buuuuut :-).

What may lie hidden in these rules; is the clue that Einstein was actually quite easily distracted (as am I), therefore these rules ensure that those distractions won't happen.

Anyway a couple of months later they had split, and presumably took the kids, so he had plenty of thinking time then!

Cg

What a great post! I think you (and Einstein) may be on to something here... by eliminating choice where we don't really need it, we are free to grow!

On a side note, maybe ask for some socks for Christmas ;)

Definitely; unnecessary choice just gets in the way. Christmas socks are great; as long as they're black!

Cg

Интересно.))) ммммм

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.99 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 07 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77