HOW TO GET FREE GAS AT THE PUMP

in #lifehack6 years ago

If you clicked on this post thinking it would get a free tank of gas you're mistaken, BUT I have gotten a little chunk of change in free gas in the past two months. For a broke college chap like myself, saving a penny here and there goes a long ways, and all it takes from you is a quick hand on the gas pump.

One day while filling up my car, I was trying to get my total to an even dollar amount (as I always do), and I noticed that while I was trying to get that elusive even amount if I pulled my fingers just light enough, and just quickly enough I could get the gallon gauge to go up 0.001, 0.002 or 0.003 without it charging me. This made me think "hey I should every time I fill up". So that's exactly what I did.

To test my hypothesis, I tried to fill up my car a couple of dollars each day. Now I know putting gas in your car every day is impractical, but for the sake of this experiment I did so.

This is a screenshot of the journal I took for about a 2 month span and recorded how much gas I squeezed out of the pump at the end of filling up my car without it charging me. There are a few missing days which was from me not getting it to go up without charging my card, or from me simply not going to the gas station that day. I tried to be religious as possible with it to get the best data.

Crunching some numbers at the end of the 2 months I received a total of 0.128 gallons in free gas saving a a grand whopping total of $0.32 (taking a gallon of gas to be $2.50). Not a huge total but if you're hardcore pinching penny's, or just a Scrooge with your money, it could help out. Yearly savings from my experiment would yield $1.92.

There are a few ways that doing this method could help save more money though. Towards the end of the experiment I noticed I could squeeze out 0.004 gallons without it charging me, so my finger speed was improving towards the end, increasing total gallons of free gas you get. Also, if gas prices increase that means you get more money for each time you do it. If conditions like these are met, and if you do this religiously for a year, I could easily see people getting $5-$20 in free gas per year.

To a lot of people, doing this wouldn't be worth their time, but I thought I would do this little experiment for those looking to save some greenbacks.

As always, Stay Classy Steemians

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54