Work From Home Hack - The Pomodoro Technique

in #lifehack7 years ago

B-Oakley-Pomodoro-042417-cover.jpeg

If you are looking for a way to hack your brain into productivity, read on as I share what I do to get more done faster.

My backstory with the pomodoro technique

When I was first getting started online, working from home, the two first major issue that I faced was:

1- Time management
2- Information overload

Not only I had headaches from the amount of information I was digesting but I also had this feeling that I accomplished nothing at the end of the day. It took me years to perfect my strategy to get things done and this is why I'm excited to share with you one of those elements that truly helped me feel like I was actually more the ball forward in my business and life.

What is the pomodoro technique?

The Pomodoro Technique was invented in the early 90s by developer, entrepeneur, and author Francesco Cirillo. Cirillo named the system "Pomodoro" after the tomato-shaped timer he used to track his work as a university student.

pomodoro_image-920x552.png

I use https://tomato-timer.com as my personal pomodoro but you could also get the old fashion handheld tomato timer if that helps.

If you are more the video type. Here is an amazing video that explains it in much more details.

Why does it work?

I found myself being able to get things done way faster when I started using the pomodoro technique. The reason I believe lies in the Parkinson Law. The Parkinson law state that "work expands so as to fill the time available for its completion".

By giving one self a short period of time to complete a given task, we force ourselves to become more efficient and finding shortcut to complete it.

Of course, you can go into much more details as you can see in the video above. But if you want to bring this to the next level, I suggest you look into this article from lifehacker.

Conclusion

I will be talking about information overload in a future article, for me it was a major problem that took me a year to resolve but before I talk about it, I had to talk about the pomodoro because it helped me management the time that I dedicated at gathering information.

Sort:  

I love the Pomodoro for my writing, it helps so much. I also like Freedom or another program that blocks social media during my sprints. Great post!

Hello @cryptoctopus, thanks for sharing this amazing tip with us all. I was really not aware of this technique.
I work at home and time management is really a big issue for me, i get disturbed the whole day. I do think by using this pomodoro technique, it will surely help me out!
Putting deadlines is what i have started recently, and it has started to help me progress.
Thanks so much!
@progressivechef

lifehacker and u great combo my friends <3

kind seniors like u help us newbies to get motivated whole day thanks :) @cryptoctopus <3

this technique will be very helpful to get work done

Thanks for sharing. Didn't know about this technique! I'll start applying it as soon as I go back to work! :) Resteemed!

I'm gonna try it doggy style!
IMG_2151.jpg

Sorry, I up voted my own reply. Guess I'm the only one who thinks it's funny! :-D

Very interesting, it might help to improve my effectiveness at work as a project manager :) Cheers!

amaizing and many interested pomodoro technique @cryptoctopus sir and sure i will use this next and hope get some better result in my work also so good to share it sir...really u come back with this great tip and also i m waiting ur album sir

Please consider taking a look at my recent post, because ur most likely upvoting the same person multiple times. https://steemit.com/steemit/@droucil/busted-observing-one-hell-of-a-steem-commentator-miner

I usually flag link dropping when it is not related to the content.

I can understand that, that is why I didn't just drop a link. It's just that I saw the same people being upvoted in ur post again.

they kind of write all wrong but as long as it is kind of related to what I write, I upvote. thanks for the concern.

@cryptoctopus
Wao this Pomodoro technique seems very interesting and productive
It's an ideal technique for those who need to regain a rhythm of production
I will be interested in very close
Great share !!!
Thank you very much !!!
Upvoted ;)
@geemo-from-paris

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69394.55
ETH 3894.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73