The Surprising Origin Of Monopoly

in #life6 years ago (edited)

We all know the game Monopoly and I think most of us have played it in one of its many forms. I've played it myself when I was still in school, a lifetime ago it seems...

But I do remember that the game was always different, no two games were the same because most of it takes place off the board: there's trades and negotiations to be made, and every deal with every person around the table takes a different approach. The goal of the games stays the same however: at the end one person owns everything and all others are left bankrupt. The humongous worldwide succes of this game makes a great point for free market capitalism, as it is called often a game that simulates life; it seems to fit our nature.


mr-monopoly.jpg
source: Costume Wall Mr. Monopoly

Mr. Monopoly is modeled after the legendary financier and banker John Pierpont Morgan, complete with handlebar moustache, tuxedo and top hat. The Monopoly mascotte was originally called "Rich Uncle Pennybag", which may lead you to think that the game might have been designed as a parody or a critique on capitalism. And you would be right...

Monopoly is widely believed to be the creation of Charles Darrow, who sold it to Parker Brothers Incorporated, who sold the first copies in 1935. In truth however, the origin of the game can be traced back to 1903, when a young activist named Lizzie Magie develops the The Landlord's Game. I bet almost none of you ever heard that game mentioned before.


BoardGamePatentMagie.png
source: Wikipedia The Landlord's Game - 1904

The Landlord's Game had almost everything that Monopoly has today, including properties and railwaystations to be bought, a "Go To Jail" square and a jail. Magie made the game to promote the economic principles of Georgism, a system proposed by Henry George, with the object of demonstrating how rents enrich property owners and impoverish tenants; she wanted to show how ridiculous and criminal the system was where a small number of people get very rich and all others have to suffer for the crime of not being there first.


monopolysmall.jpg
source: Pinterest Monopoly Board


It's tragic that 30 years later, after three unsuccessful attempts to get her game accepted by one of the large game publishers, like Parkers, she saw almost the exact same game being published under the name Monopoly and saw it being hailed as a celebration of the very thing she tried to combat. Watch this short history of the origin of this world famous game:



What do you think about this game? It is after all the only game where you can make your friends bankrupt, see them being thrown in jail, be happy about all of that and still remain friends afterwards...


lance-1 divider odrau steem
Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png
I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

Sort:  

I had read that when I was writing about some of the games that I played as I kid with my siblings :)

You are well informed then :-) I only learned about this history in 2005 or 2006 when I saw a documentary about the Monopoly World Championship of 2003.

Love it! THATS Original content Right There!
Full of quality you are, and i just like it that either way you had this thought come into the mind to share this info (I mean either to ask the question "where did it begin" and learn yourself - or to have that knowledge stored and then to share it!)

Thanks man, Your already a little steemit leg end!

Thanks so much, @movingman! Glad you liked it! :-) I remember all this from a documentary I saw in 2005 or 2006 in which some participants of the Monopoly World Championships of 2003 (yes, that really exists!) were followed. A short part of that documentary was about these origins. So I looked up the info on Wikipedia and wrote this post :-)

Like I say, its very Original ! have a great day \ night :)

This is fascinating – truly!

I never really enjoyed Monopoly. No matter what I did, I just didn't have the right mindset to get there first. So I always ended up feeling shafted – unable to even imagine winning.

Perhaps I'm just not built to excel at such a lopsided game. Maybe that's a good thing. ;)

I was never good at the game also :-) But it's interesting that Magie's game originally came with not one, but two rule-sets: you could play as the capitalist, the game we all know now, but there were also rules where the objective was the opposite; to make sure no one got bankrupt... I can not even begin to imagine how that would work, which maybe is a sign...

That sounds so much more...civil. How sad is it that such a thing is hard to imagine?

I've played this game many times for hours at a time. I know it well, but looking back, I have a hard time seeing how the game is representative of free markets.

I'm with Lizzie on this one. :)

Me too, brother... me too :-) Thanks for reading and leaving a line :-)

It is a good way to teach to our children the principle of economy.

This is my daily problem: my kid has to play "the game of life" to survive, so I'm torn that I never played Monopoly with him. I just don't like the game and what it teaches, but you knew already that I have a lot of problems with our economy and what it does with and to people. This Monopoly economy works for 15% of the world population, 85% suffers because of it. That's why I hope that with the public blockchain some kind of slow transformation will take place, that the openness and immutability will lead to another way of treating each other. And that's why your posts are so important, @chesatochi! :-)

Thank you so much, in life you always need to develop your literacy in finance. This is the only way to be ahead of the game and be able to make a good decision right now for your future in fiat or crypto!

You should maybe read the classic books "The wealthy barber" and "Rich dad poor dad."

Wow! Thanks for the informations you shared.

You're very welcome, @immatureness! Thank you for showing interest and leaving a comment: it is most appreciated! :-)

I've played the game many times and never wondered about who created it. This is a fascinating post. Thank you! I learned something today thanks to you.

I learn new things every day too, and it's better to learn together :-) Thanks for your kind words and reading my post! :-)

Interestingly, a woman gets shafted by men. Not the first time and not the last time indeed. What an ironic twist though, she tried to fight greed, but that exactly what Monopoly teaches..

A tragic twist indeed. Not only for miss. Magie, but for all of us. It should make us stop and ask: Is "greed" really our most defining trait?

Thanks so much for leaving your thoughts here :-)

Agreed. About greed.

LOL! :-) Clever word-wizardry there :-) Thanks!

Full circle we now have a US president that learned about real estate investing from playing Monopoly!

Thanks to @paradigmprospect, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Wow, thank you so much, @paradigmprospect and @thedailysneak, I'm humbled and honored :-) <3

I would really like to thank you for helping out us starters on Steemit. I'll read more of your blog posts and make sure to vote for any witnesses that support your project!

Much love!

Great post! I'll be sharing on some other social media channels.

Thanks for your kind words, and thanks for sharing :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48