Saying Farewell To A Place You Called Home

in #life7 years ago

Hello everyone!


So, if you've ever had to move, you know the feeling all too well -

The feeling of leaving a place that you called home for a little while, or a long while. You don't always know how to feel. Should you be happy, or sad? It really depends on the situation, or where you're going to be next.

For me, I got used to saying goodbye awhile ago.

I've lived in a few different states, and moving to Canada about 2 years ago means I've been across the border. I grew up in Michigan. I moved a few times, with my mother, but we always returned to Michigan. It was our home. It was where our family lived. I had lived in Florida for a couple years, and went to school there, and that place never felt like home.

The definition of home is different for everyone.

for some people, home is where all their stuff is. For other people, it might be anywhere that their family is. Sometimes when you move, you can feel like your home is somewhere else. Especially if you didn't really want to move in the first place. I enjoy the different apartments I've lived in, but they are only considered a home if my spouse is there as well. He's the person that makes any place feel like home. His arms are my real home.

Michigan was my home for 18 years.

And after 18 years, things happened, relationships changed, and I packed up my bags and followed my mom to Texas. I thought I was going to hate Texas. I thought I would never call it home, but now I feel like it's more of a home than Michigan is to me. It's where all my memories of maturing, learning passions, trying new things, making new friends, and meeting my spouse are, and I'd be happy to return someday.

I made most of my current friends in Texas. I absolutely loved the entertainment and music scene in the DFW area. By the way - my friends are crazy ;]

After that, I moved again.

More things happened, and this time it was me and my spouse, instead of my mother and I, who had to move. We stayed in one state temporarily, and we both hated it so much, that I refuse to say its name. Memory erased. And then we ended up in New York. New York was a whole other adventure, and even those I wasn't entirely happy with the living situations at the time, I really enjoyed getting to explore the city. I wouldn't call that place home, but it was an okay place to stay.

You can end up places you've already been.

Some people move back to places they've lived before, because it feels like home. That's what happened with me and Michigan. This time, we are moving again, and we are ending up back in New York.

Canada was ok...

I would only recommend it to someone who is chill and doesn't mind there not being much to do. Speaking of chill, you also have to enjoy cold ass winters.

I guess poutine might be a plus though.

I've had my fill, and I'm ready to go back. I'm completely fine with the change. It was hard to leave Michigan, and it was hard to leave Texas, but if you never leave, you might miss some huge adventures and experiences! It's honestly not hard for me to leave Canada though. It didn't leave much of an impact on me.

It's funny how you notice more of your city when you're about to leave.

I've recently found myself stumbling over more and more random things within the city, and I slowly say farewell to it. I've been trying to snap some photos as well.

These are from our adventure today






I'm sure I'll have more photos, and more to talk about soon. :]

Images from my Imgur, my Instagram, and from Pixabay

Sort:  

R.I.P. Canada, you was a good Canada before the hostile zombie invasion.

wow how cool ..... Now you get to start over ... LIFE is all about change ... Im happy for you two ....

I think something got misunderstood. LOL.

Either comment is in wrong spot, or she thought you were Castle cuz of your game character icon. pssst it's Castle's mom. :p

:) That's awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49