A Visit To Victoria Park

in #life7 years ago


Hello everyone!

So, today @thecastle and I headed downtown (London, Ontario) to do a bit of shopping.

It has been storming on and off all week, and started pouring right as we decided to go, so we had to drive downtown. By the time we got there, it was already getting sunny again. We grabbed some bottles of booze, drinks, snacks and also went to the pet store to get our cat some catnip and a new scratching board.

We decided we were also hungry, and stopped to get food.

We stopped at our local Japanese restaurant, and I decided to finally try their ramen. I usually ordered sushi, a bento box, or some takoyaki. This time I went with the chicken katsu ramen. I have absolutely no regrets. It was amazing!

The weather was super nice, so we decided to head over to Victoria Park.

The alley we take to get to the main road is a spot for musicians and people taking a breather. It also had a couple pretty flowers growing, but I felt like it could use more.


I've always been bad about living somewhere, and never really exploring the super popular spots.

I had gone to Victoria Park once last Summer for the Sunfest, and the place was packed. It smelled like vendor food, and there was a bunch of live music. This time I was planning on visiting it when it was empty, to get a good look at all the hot spots littered about the park.

I guess you have to check the event lists before visiting.

My plans were foiled! When we got there, there was a random event going on. The place was packed. I didn't even know what the event was, but we decided to enjoy it anyways.


I was looking for something in specific, but I think I'm going to show it in the next post, as I took a lot of photos.

The biggest part of Victoria Park events seems to be the food!

There are vendors literally lining the entire path of the park, and it's not exactly a small park. The smell of the different foods is enough to draw you to the festival.

These guys were dressed as the Flinstones, and cooking turkey legs.

I swear this always remind me of Pac-Man. I feel bad for the person getting eaten.

There was a bounce house that looked like WALL-E

In all the chaos, I did manage to get some pictures of the statues and gardens.

There were a couple memorial statues, some flower gardens, and a lot of people enjoying the shade of the trees.



"In honour of the men from the London district, who fought for the empire in South Africa, and in memory of those who fell. 1899-1902."



I don't know a lot of Canada's history, but it was still interesting to read the plaques.

And it was a perfect day to enjoy all of the nature. There were some giant trees in the park, which provided a lot of shade.




We did a little window shopping on the way home.

There was a shop with really awesome dresses, that I wish I had found earlier on. And there were a bunch of restaurants in the area that we didn't even know existed. It's fun to be a tourist in your own city.

We made it home just in time, and we even had to run from the rain a bit to get back to our car. It was a bit of excitement, and also refreshing.

The cat likes her new scratch board!

I hope you enjoyed the journey with me!

All images mine @ Imgur

Sort:  

wow @zombiedoll i like this post keep sharing content like this :)

Thanks!
I like to explore, so there will definitely be more like this. :]

Take my upvote (especially for the cat picture :), and thanks for sharing your journey

Gotta pay that cat tax ;]
Thanks

i want to visit Victoria Park someday^^
nice photo~
thank you for sharing

Great post! Thanks for sharing

All those lovely pictures made me hungry, and I could really go for a turkey leg about now. I used to get them when we went to our local Renaissance Faire.

Thanks for sharing your trip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91