You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Does The School System Still Exist?

in #life7 years ago

I do agree with you that the current school system has tons of flaws. I come from a family of teachers and I can see the limits of the system. Legal, educational, emotional, strategical limits, a real bunch of them. But I'm not sure I follow you when you take away the value of education itself. We can't just stop learning stuff because machines do them for us. We can't stop reading and thinking because one day we'll have a job that doesn't require us to. We can't stop being formed as complete individuals just because one day only a small part of what we are will be asked of us. If you only teach people whatever is needed to do the one job they'll be supposed to do, you'll raise robots, don't you think?

Sort:  

Some of what I wrote is badly worded. I am not saying we should stop learning entirely I just think it should be done very differently. It should not be compulsory until you 18 to be in full time education. I think everything that is taught now should still be taught but you should be able to choose from a much larger range of subjects than the very specific subjects currently taught and it should be your choice which subjects you want to do. There should not be certain subjects that are compulsory just because the government believes they are important. That is their view but young adults who are in education or are part of it are going to know what they would like out of an education more than the government would because they are experiencing it right now and they know what needs to be changed. The people that make the decisions are not in school currently.

You say only learning the minimum will raise robots but does the current system which is designed to make everyone go into the world with GCSE's because that is supposedly what is correct not raise people as robots? Everyone goes into the world with a certain amount of GCSE's knowing the samethings as anyone else with the same GSCE.

Nope, the current system sucks. I agree with you on that. We come from different countries with different education systems, so I can't really speak for what you're used to consider "school", but here in Italy, governments have been destroying the school system piece by piece in the last 30 years. I know what you mean by "brainwashing" and I agree with your views on that.
But we have to be aware what we wish. The younger you are, the more your brain is flexible and your learning curve is easy. I'm not going to be one of those parents who force their kids to learn 2 languages by the time they're six, I think kids shall be kids and enjoy their life and their energy. But when you're young, what you learn sticks with you. It's important that you keep at it. And keep in mind I'm one of those guys who hated school in their teenage years, I spent a whole year walking around my city instead of being in class. Still, I'm grateful to some of my teachers who were able to form me as an individual. And yeah, students know what they need to some degree, but there's tons they don't know, yet. That's why they learn.
I think the only solution is for the school system to be actually managed by people who care about the kids more than they care about politics and economics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48