Q: "What was one of the happiest times in your life and what made it special?"

in #life6 years ago
The question of happiness was always an interesting subject to me. What makes us happy, truly happy? For those of you who have kids, I am sure you will say how they are your happiness. Maybe you who are married will say how that day was the happiest in your life. Was it the first day you spent the night in your new house? I have not experienced those big changing moments that stick with you for the rest of your life but I did have my share of happy moments, and honestly, it is not that hard to pick my favorites.

Istria is the largest peninsula in the Adriatic Sea. My country has a bird shape and Istria county is the head. Maybe that has something to do with the smartest people living there and maybe it is something else but the fact remains, if you want the best people in Croatia, go to Istria.

To get to Istria, you have to pass Učka mountain, over or through it, and whenever I go through that tunnel and exit it on the Istria side, I get a feeling of being home. Istria was always like a magnet to me, pulling me to it, calling me and welcoming.

This is the most open-minded county in Croatia, always has been. People there do not care about your religion, skin color, sex preferences or gender. They treat you as what you are, a human being. People in Istria are not obsessed with past but turned toward the future and politically, they were always left oriented with no fanaticism at all. Open, friendly, educated, organized, modern and with so much love to give. A couple of years ago, we had a referendum and voted whether a gay marriage should be called "a marriage", Istria was the only place where people who voted yes were a majority. Istria is the only place in Croatia where concerts of foreign musicians are not banned because of their nationality and guess where you can find swinger clubs? Yup, in Istria.

You know how some people have a life's dream of being rich or having 10 children or owning their own company? I have only one goal in life, to live in Istria. It is a rich county with the longest tourist season, great companies and a lot of money being put in the countries pockets with getting almost nothing in return. Istria has business oriented people with great ideas and solutions, great innovations and perspective. It is ideal to live in because of its pleasant Mediterranean climate and opportunities that await you there, from cities to countryside, Istria has it all. The vibe, Istria has a certain vibe that will make you fall in love with it.

I have visited it so many times that I have lost count. Every time was special and every time was unique with so much happiness and joy. I saw most of its cities and forests, went deep into underground caves and swam on its beaches. I have listened to concerts in the great arena of Pula and slept in nature camps in Bale. I know every house by color in Rovinj and every stone in the smallest town on Earth, Hum. In my heart, I am Istrian. In my mind, I am Istrian.

When I am in Istria, I am in my zen zone. There is no stress, no anxiety, anger or sadness, only joy, only pleasure. I am free there, free and happy and I get to eat truffles, lots of truffles. I can not say what was the best time there because every time I was there was special. Every time was magical and unique. I can not choose, it is simply impossible. The happiest times of my life were when I was walking in Istria, swimming, dancing, singing, and sleeping in Istria. The happiest times in my life were always in Istria. Istria, it is always Istria. I have more love for it than any words could ever describe. I live my life in a way that my every action is questioned, will it bring me closer to Istria? Will my every move, decision and thought get me there faster? This is how I live. With a constant obsession to move there and I will. Oh, I most definitely will. Mark my words, I will be living there one day.

The first time I was in Istria was when I was only 14 years old, and since I am turning 33 tomorrow, that makes this a 19-year-old love that only grows stronger with each passing day. It is a love that is spread throughout my entire being. Each and every one of my cells loves Istria, my organs, hearth and brain, from my pinky toe to the hair on my head.

Istria has the best wine, the best food, the best people, the best nature, the best beaches, the best climate, the best cities, the best... Istria brings out the best in me and Istria is the best. Istria is love.

Image sources AND LICENCES in order of appearance:

- all images used in this post were taken by me and are owned by me
- my bitmoji avatar was created on https://www.bitmoji.com/, visit the site to create yourown

PROUD MEMBER OF:


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

Istria should definitely be the land of happiness and i can feel the Istria in you @zen-art. Traveling to places you like is happiness and i think i should start making my tourism travel destination list.

and I can feel the Istria in you @zen-art

best words anyone has ever said to me 💚💚💚

Upvoted 100% from Pula :)

Oh @vortac, how did I just now see this comment? Maybe it was so I do not get too much jealous of you my dear. When I pass Učka, I really feel like I have come back home. My dream place is somewhere around Pula (Fažana or Valbandon or something like that because I want to be on a walking distance from the city and yet not live in it), and Pula is one of those cities I can not get lost in, feels natural and home-like. I have more love for Istria than any words can describe 💚

I can really tell that you love spending time in this place @zen-art. And I see you are the same age as I am :) Hopefully one day you will have your dreams come true and be able to live there full time as opposed to just visiting. Sounds like a truly magical and free space to live. If I'm ever in Croatia I will remember that I have to visit there. Thank you for sharing :)

Oh, I will live there one day, trust me :) Visit Croatia and Istria if you get a chance, you will not regret it. Thank you for your lovely comment 💚

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by zen-art 💚 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

We have an Istria in Romania!
Officially called Histria is one of the oldest true cities, build by the Romans.
Been to your Istria also, a few times actually.
Special place!

I am so glad you have been there!!! You understand me then!!! :)
💚💚💚

I can't blame you for having that 19-year-old love with Istria. By the looks of it, it is a beautiful place. Those kind of place are the ones worth coming back to...worth lingering...always. Happy to know you have found a home in Istria. Take care!

I did find a home and it is a great feeling to be able to say that. Thank you for your lovely words 💚

Travel to a place you like is happiness! That’s so true :) when we indulge in it, that’s where we enjoy and appreciate the place.

Happiness can be many things and it often is, one of those things is definitely traveling. One day, I hope, traveling will be replaced with living 💚

A very adventurous life you wanna lead, traveling as a living. Like day one in the States and the next moment, you are in Europe.

So informative and initiative

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, I am glad you like it.

Wow, now you have made me curious how Istria is with how you have promoted this beautiful place, @zen-art !

Indeed a place that brings joy and relaxation in your heart is definitely worth a place to be in, it's like a home away from home.

upvoted

I am glad that I have sparked your curiosity :) Now, come and see for yourself, Istria is waiting for you 💚

That's a simple question! "Cafe del cielo", a small B&B in the Ecuadorian Andes! A place I loved, felt amazing and never wished to leave.

I am glad you have that special happy place 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48