Our grandparents and Great GrandParents knew how to grow food!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Clear

Sort:  

Awsome Love this. Best of luck in your growing journey. I have lots of great blogs on growing food, in buckets too, and using height to grow for smaller yards. Now Following you, and upvoted.

Thanks very much, will definately read your stuff thats sounds like a really good idea!

This was a great read. I really enjoyed it. I wish desperately I still had my Grandmother so I could call her up and pick her brain about gardening. She had the greenest of green thumbs of anyone I knew. I know wish I would have paid more attention to the little nuggets of wisdom she was always so willing to share.
I can sympathize with your water restrictions. We have had a pretty dry summer so far and our property has a private well - so no city water to back us. This is great in terms not being restricted but we also have to be self aware of the amount of water we use too.
thanks for sharing.

Thanks so much for sharing and for the feedback. A well round about now sounds like a life saver :) .. maybe i can convince the complex to get one in time.

Lol, Quick disclaimer- Mum used to be a Home Economics teacher and is an excellent cook so I would imagine it was not for lack of trying getting you guys to eat veggies :D I know Lynt used to be super fussy.

You and Sally have done so much work in that garden! And crammed more trees than I thought was humanly possible into that space :)
I remember when you started planning out your veggie garden and you got 'Janes Delicious Garden' by Jane Griffiths and started organic gardening the heck out of your space.
You inspired me to get the same book and get my backyard garden in pots going.

With the new yard now I know that there is space for a better thought out veggie garden but I don't really know how to go ahead. Would you and Sal come around and lend me your brains for picking?

I miss Nan.

Looking forward to the next instalment.
Which year did you get Louis?

Hey guys, lol there is always room for something more :) Yes that would be so much fun designing a veggie garden together let do it! Louis was born 26 March 2011 and we got him on 26 June.. He still a spring chicken haha. Thanks for upvote, love you guys

Cool! I'll pm you about when. I have plotted the underground pipes and the wind and the sun. Started moving some of that groundcover we got at Garden Barrow onto the lawn to make the flower bed in front of the house more veggie friendly.

I can remember my grandmother talking about 'victory gardens' too.
I could listen to her speak for HOURS! I miss those times. So much could be learned and taught.
Great post! and thank you for letting my mind wander down memory lane

Thanks for sharing :)

'My Nooi is in n nartjie
My Ouma in kaneel
Daar's iemand... iemand in anys
Daar's n vrou in elke geur'
DJ Opperman

For Nan

Great post !!
I am also starting a small garden of my own , just because I like gardening and nature and besides the food that you grow is 10 times healthier than the one you buy in supermarket .

Keep on gardening, It's soon gonna be a forgotten knowledge ...
upvote and following

Thanks very much for the support. I have followed you too, I would really like to visit Bali one day. So I will definately read up on your life there :)

Congratulations @zalife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post. Good story. Check out the homesteaders postings on steemit. We do appreciate a good gardening tale. Thanks. 🐓🐓

Great thanks alot I will do :) I read a couple of your posts I am definately going to follow your work, keep it up

Can you imagine this guy arriving early to work like 6am so he can sweep up the work parking lot to collect mulch for his garden..

Free mulch is free mulch. I make some and get the rest for free myself!

Congratulations @zalife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17