My visit at Wisconsin State CapitolsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

In the last month, we celebrated our Thanksgiving holiday at Madison, the capital city of Wisconsin state. My wife's cousins live there. I visited Madison few times before, but never checked the Capitol building. Actually this was my first time entering into any Capitol. OMG, I never thought a government building would be so beautiful and so artistic in both inside and outside.

1.jpg

I found this fact very interesting, it is the tallest building in Madison. This distinction has been preserved by legislation that prohibits buildings taller than the columns surrounding the dome (187 feet).

2.jpg

The building is located right next to the University of Wisconsin, Madison. The day was Thanksgiving eve. While everyone were busy cooking turkey, we decided to check the building before the dinner was ready. I did not expect, but I was surprised to see it was open for public on that day.

3.jpg

4.jpg

We walked through the revolving door. What a royal entrance! I stood right under the center of the dome, I could not able to turn my head down until my neck started to hurt. It was gorgeous!

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.png

According to wikipedia, the current building was built between 1906 & 1917. The capitol houses both chambers of the Wisconsin legislature along with the Wisconsin Supreme Court and the Office of the Governor.

8.jpg

9.jpg

In the top floor, there are doors to stand outside the dome. But unfortunately it was closed on that day. May be next time. I forgot exactly, in the 2nd or 3rd floor, each four sides of the building has a small open room. In one of the rooms I found this beautiful statue.

10.jpg

11.jpg

When we were leaving, it was about to sunset and I took this snap! Just look at this.

Sort:  

this is amazing place.....i like it

Wow. Amazing photos!

Nice post thanks for sharing!

Nice and interesting photos. Good work!

Thanks. More will come soon.

That's great. I looking forward....

What a great trip!

Thanks to @chiefmappster, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

This post has received a 50.00 % upvote from @voteme thanks to: @zakariachowdhury.

I'm so glad you got the opportunity to visit our beautiful state capitol building! Your photos are very good. They make me want to visit again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61955.50
ETH 2904.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71