What would you do if you had a million dollars?

in #life6 years ago

I know, I know, 2 chicks at the same time.

Well not really. That's Lawrence's idea of being a millionaire. But it's something every 99% of the rest of us who aren't millionaires think (fantasize) about more often than we care to admit.

And it's not a trite question either. In the movie "Office Space" the main protagonist, Peter Gibbons, remembers that question being posed to him by his high school guidance counselor in order to help him make future career decisions. So for example if you had a million dollars and didn't have to work, but loved working on old cars, the answer to a future career would be 'auto mechanic'. It was an exercise in choosing a career and having a job you loved instead of just...working.

The droning monotonous tyranny of everyday work. Just look at all the tired, dreary, unhappy faces on the subway trains in the morning commute and you'd have to say that a lot of us didn't end up with a career and a job we loved.

So, would a million dollars and the freedom to choose any career free us from the tyranny of work and bring happiness and contentment? Maybe. But that's not the point. Peter Gibbons in "Office Space" said he wouldn't work at all if he had a million dollars. He would do nothing. He would sit on his ass all day, everyday, and do nothing. Which sounds pretty darn awesome to me. But you don't need a million dollars to do nothing. Look at Lawrence's cousin "he's broke and don't do shit".

So here's what I would do if I had a million dollars, in no particular order: pay off debts/mortgage; invest about 10% of the remainder (roughly $700K) in various investment vehicles such as stocks, precious metals, mutual funds, bonds, cryptocurrencies etc; wait a little for this stupid housing market in Toronto to correct itself further and buy an investment property; save the rest.

Yes, I'll still go back to work. But fortunately for me my boss is not Bill Lumbergh, and I love my job (even though I'm not a millionaire).

Sort:  

Great post! The Toronto reference made me laugh. Keep the good content coming

Thanks. Yes, this housing market in Toronto is becoming a parody of itself.

haha I hear it daily, believe me. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63